Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Oh my... these are SINFULLY good! I followed the recipe, but I only had granulated sugar on hand, which I tried pulverizing with a mortar and pestle. They came out a little too sweet, but still oooey and gooey and with a wonderful crust!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my first time to make lemon bars and it's a success! I followed the recipe and didn't change a thing. Love this recipe, thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These are fantastic! I love how the lemon layer somehow forms a bit of a crust on top. It allows a dusting of powdered sugar to stay on top, and not soak in, as has happened with every other lemon bar I've ever made! The shortbread crust is just perfect. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan, because a small pan is never enough :) (**next time I will add a bit more lemon and lemon zest because I love very tart citrus flavor, but they're delicious as written)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made them exactly as per Chef John's recipe & they turned out perfect! My husband thought they were a bit too sweet for his taste so maybe next time I'll reduce the sugar &/or increase the lemon. But the crust was perfect, the custard developed the white glaze Chef John mentions, and the timing was just right. I topped them off with some black raspberries I'd just picked & it gave them an extra little festive touch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These lemon bars are sooooooo yummy!They were gone in a instant. I've made lemon bars before, but these were the BEST! I will totally use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These are so good....loved them and so did my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Mmm-Mmmm! I loved the sturdy crust on this one. I'm going to be brave and half the sugar next time and see what happens. I found these a little too sweet. After reading other reviews I kept a close eye on the cooking time and the directed times worked perfect. Thanks for another one Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Thanks Chef John! I was so worried about these coming out of the pan in one piece but after the first piece (i.e. "martyr" piece), they all came out beautifully and are delicious! I did have to reduce the time baking by 3-4 minutes for both the crust and filling but absolute lemony goodness. It will definitely be a hit at my niece's bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
so delicious. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States