Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I've been making these for a lot of years. This recipe is easy to make and uses "on-hand" ingredients. I make meringue with 2 egg whites, spread on top, put under Broiler until toasty brown. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie De Leon

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ace, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I just finished it but with no sugary top ;( maybe I overbaked it. I used brown sugar instead of white as well. ;( on the bright side, it smells delicious. Very impatient having to wait for it to cool! Can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo Suan Chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
So good!!!!! My kids just begged for a third bar! My husband raved about them and then snuck off with his own third bar about a minute ago. My "room temp" butter was probably a bit soft- was out on the counter all morning in Southern California- but otherwise I made absolutely no changes. The only thing I will change next time is to use both ovens and make two batches. (I'm a little nervous about doubling the perfect recipe). Times were exactly right and with my liberal use of non-stick spray, they came out of the glass pan easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
These lemon bars were wonderful, nice lemon flavor. and I loved the shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty
Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Too good to be true! This is not just good, it's FOOD-ORGASMIC! For the lemon juice, I used 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon. The result was not too tart, not too sweet. Just the perfect balance of lemon flavor and sweetness. Next time though, I will put some parchment paper in my pan. The cookie stuck a little to the sides of my pan, even though I greased it. This recipe will be a regular in my house from now on. Thank you chef John! Another fantastic recipe from you, you're the best! Loved the video too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So delicious. I followed the recipe and these are truly delicious. Everyone I make them for absolutely loves them. I'm going to make them again, but alter the recipe a bit adding raspberries. Yum! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. I think the shortbread is perfect, but the custard isn't tart enough for my personal taste! I will add more lemon & zest next time. If you like a sweeter custard, make the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamille Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I love the crusty top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
The taste was excellent. I would like it to be even more tangy... but this was fabulous. I can always trust a Chef John recipe.... then it comes down to my own cooking skill. I sometimes rush ahead and neglect exactly as explained... I get so excited to get to the finished product... sometimes I may even get a tad lazy in my rush... I used the ingredients in the recipe to a "t" except I did put a pinch of salt in the lemon filling... I don't think it effected the final chemistry of the product. I used my kitchen aid stand mixer to put everything together instead of a bowl and wooden spoon... is there any way to over mix any of the components? I did think the final product was great... the crust was not to sweet. I would have liked the whole end product to have been taller with more lemon curd... did I do something wrong? Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
First lemon bar recipe I have tried. Turned out great! However, I would use less flour for the crust for a 8X8 frame. My crust was thicker then I like. All in all very good. The filling was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States