Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Gluten Free Version. I simply substituted a gluten free flour mix and followed Chef John's recipe. To compensate for the lack of crust integrity, I used large, paper cupcake liners and then placed them in a silicone muffin mold. The recipe made 15 crusts. Baking time for the cookie crust was 12 minutes. I poured almost 1.5 tbs. lemon custard over the hot crusts. Then baked them for about 18-19 minutes. The lemon bars peeled out of the papers easily! We are delighted. And my wonderful husband is happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this for the office today and they raved about it. Said it was the best lemon bar they have tasted. I did not change a thing and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I was nervous to attempt lemon bars, but gave it a shot, and they came out perfect! Only changes: used cold butter and used my food processor, and didn't have a zester. Otherwise followed to a t, including exact times. I doubled it in a 9x13 pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Yes!! 100% delicious!!! I love al his recipes!! When I'm going to make something new( or old,) I always look for his recipes, and 99.9% of the time I use his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These were fantastic and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
One of my all-time favorite bake sale goodies, just never checked out recipes before. For this Thanksgiving, decided to Google 5-star lemon bar recipes and Chef Johns had the most favorable reviews. Wow.....awesomely easy! Only needed to buy lemons. Doubled recipe for 9x13 and increased 1/4 to 1/3 lemon juice. That's it....perfect 1st time around and family loved them. Even I couldn't believe I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Becerra
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have a lemon tree in my yard so I've had to search for as many delicious ways to use them as possible. This recipe is one of my favorites. Normally, I'm not a fan of lemony desserts but I decided to give this one a try because I have hundreds of lemons and my boyfriend also loves lemon bars. Once I made this, I was hooked! Absolutely perfect combo of the lemon and crust. I'm a huge crust lover so I did increase the crust by a third to make it a bit thicker but other than that there are no complaints. Very fresh and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was my first time making lemon bars and they turned out perfect! The instructions were very easy to follow and explained how everything would look exactly. 1 reviewer said he added 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda to the crust and filling. I made two batches so i tried it both ways and both ways turned out great. One was slightly puffier and taller while the other was thinner and dense. It just depends on how you like them but you cannot go wrong with this recipe! Pay attention to the color of the edge to make sure you don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
LOVE Chef John's recipes! Best Lemon Bars I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Wow, these are amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States