Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
very tasty...i think i overcooked the crust because it stuck to the pan. but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The crust on these is awesome. I rarely use all purpose flour, so I subbed in 3/4 c white whole wheat flour and 1/4 c almond flour . . . so good! The end result was about 50% crust and 50% lemony goodness. I love lemon, so next time I will try one-and-a-halving the filling recipe (and baking a tad longer) to get a thicker layer of lemon. Might also add more lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Wonderful! I did add a little more lemon juice...just because it was a juicy lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darlene Morrow
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made these yesterday and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
These lemon bars are delicious! If you are taking them to a party, you might want to double the recipe- they were a huge hit at our Easter party!! The hot knife was a great trick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Delicious- I also mixed the crust in the food processor and it worked great. Filling is delicious- you can tweak it to your taste. I doubled the ingredients and used a 9x13 pan with complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This is now my favorite thing to make! It's perfectly sweet and satisfies my cravings right away! Not too tart at all. I've made this for friends and they can't get enough of them either. Very simple recipe and doesn't use very much ingredients. If you like sweet & simple, then this is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Chef John did it again! When I wanted to find a failed proof recipe for lemon square, I go directly to Chef John's. It turned out wonderful. The recipe was very to follow. I did skip pressing the crust with wet hand and the poking using the fork. The crust at the time was very crumbly. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Compared to other lemon bar recipes i have tried this one is significantly more complicated and time consuming, and produces an inferior product. The crust was hard and severely stuck to the pan, and the filling never fully set up. The ratio of tartness to sweetness was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States