Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Chef John did it again! When I wanted to find a failed proof recipe for lemon square, I go directly to Chef John's. It turned out wonderful. The recipe was very to follow. I did skip pressing the crust with wet hand and the poking using the fork. The crust at the time was very crumbly. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Compared to other lemon bar recipes i have tried this one is significantly more complicated and time consuming, and produces an inferior product. The crust was hard and severely stuck to the pan, and the filling never fully set up. The ratio of tartness to sweetness was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Munira Kamari
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
The bars were yum but just my lemon custard was a little unset...runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munira Kamari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These were delicious and certainly reminiscent of lemon meringue pie! I will echo the easy treat comment,no need to make changes. katibird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IHeartIdaho
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
25 minutes for 2nd half is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
When my non dessert eating hubby mentioned liking lemon bars, I thought "Score!". I love how easy these were to make, and how the shortbread wasn't dry or overpowering. The lemon filling was silky smooth. I did use orange zest instead of lemon. Next time maybe I'll try lime, for a little extra kick, as we like the citrus tart more than sugar sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bpalomares
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is the first time making lemon bars and my family say its the best they ever had. I did use coconut flour instead but still great results with a hint of coconut, I recommend this to everyone I know who likes lemon bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I made it today, it has to be the best lemon bars I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shepard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodlake, California, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States