Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Delicious! I didn't change a thing. The crust was a little crumbly but otherwise a great dish full of flavor and everyone in the house agreed. Note: I ended up using a spatula to press the crust in the baking dish. I tried to use my fingers and the dough starting sticking to my wet fingers. The custard set but, like another reviewer's comment, the thin white sugary crust did not develop on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
OMG These bars are addictive! I didn't have any salt free butter & used salted butter and they still came out beautifully. My mother is a lemon nut and everything I have made up until now she always said "not lemony enough" All she said when she tasted this was WOW I love them. Not hard to make either. Definitely a keeper. Thank Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Whole family loved them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent- love the lemon flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I will definitely make these again and double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I read tons of reviews before choosing which to make and how to tweak the recipes. This recipe is great! With one minor change.. DOUBLE the lemon curd. Otherwise you end up with 80% crust (not exaggerating). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Oh my!!! You certainly spoiled us with this recipe, it was simply perfect the taste was superb and I love that it had the perfect amount of everything with such simple kitchen ingredients. Definitely a gourmet dessert suitable for the finest of restaurants. I couldn't do the meringue (no torch) but it didn't need it. Didn't bother putting powder sugar either, it was spot on as is. We had a Chef John dinner which consisted of the buttermilk fried chicken, mashed potatoes, buttermilk biscuits, and these lemon squares as dessert. They were the perfect compliment, to the meal, I think my kids are dreaming about them, they had 3rds and my hubby kept going back to them too. Store bought lemon desserts taste miserable to me so I don't ever do lemon anything in a dessert context, but that will change after today. After they cooled down on the counter a bit I placed them in the freezer for about 30 minutes, they are definitely a cool treat, better they warm up in your mouth not your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I made this recipe today and thought it was easy and delicious. I did use a slightly different method for making the crust. I used all the same ingredients, but started by putting all the dry crust ingredients into a food processor and pulsing a couple of times to make sure they were well blended. Then I added the vanilla and cold butter cut into pieces, not softened butter. I pulsed until it turned into a crumbly, sand-like texture. I had lined the pan with aluminum foil sprayed with cooking oil. I was able easily to press the mixture into the pan, and didn't wet my finger. It turned out really well that way and was very easy to work with. Once the whole thing was baked and cooled, it was very simple to lift the whole thing out of the pan and cut the bars with no mess or sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I may have ate the entire pan, if it wasn't for my family members holding me back. Crust is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
My favorite bakery changed their lemon bars. Glad they did or I would have not tried to make my own. These were better than any bakery. Stuck to the recipe as is, the times are perfect. So very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States