Chef John's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I noticed that this recipe says 1/2 lb lean ground beef but the one on Chef John's website says 1 1/2 lbs which is what I've always used. 1/2 l/b is probably not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I have made Chef John's Lasagna two times in the last month and both times it was a huge hit! Don't skimp on the quality of ingredients, it makes all the difference in the world. I would follow this recipe as written the first time, it is fantastic as is, but I know we all like to tweak and make it our own, I do too. Even my 1 year old grandchild was given a little to taste, and he seemed to like it. Thank you Chef John for another incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Tried chef John's Lasagne tonight it is a really tasty dish, this will be the recipe for us from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is my go to lasagna recipe.. I make the actual meat sauce my own way but it's amazing. I let everyone know how amazing it is. We make ours in break
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Best lasagna ever- but sadly, fewer leftovers than with my previous recipe. I do add 1-1 1/2 cups red wine to the pot after I brown the meat/veggies and turn up the heat to reduce the liquid by about half, but I am a wino. I'm sure it's just as good without. I've thrown all my other lasagna recipes away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and my husband loved it!! The Italian sausage gives it a nice touch, this will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I fixed this for the first time while I had family in town and it was a huge hit. I followed another recommendation and I did 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound sausage. Regarding the sausage, anyone that has a Wholefoods close by....I highly recommend using the store made mild chicken Italian sausage. It so unbelievablely tastey! Also, next time I will make extra sauce so that I can pour some on the individual slices. Just a preference. Great recipe, thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is the fist time that I made lasagna and it was so delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
OK, I haven't made lasagna in years. The stuff I used to make was icky and the noodles were uncooked. Made this recipe last night and the family raved over it. My only question: where is the garlic??? Yes, I cheated and tossed in a couple cloves of minced garlic... anyhow, my aching hands from grating cheese were totally worth it and this will be my go to recipe! As always John, your recipe was phenomenal. I'm trying the maple-brined pork loin next! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious !!!!...i followed the recipe exactly i just add spinash to the meat sauce for some extra nutrients it was delicious! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States