Chef John's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I fixed this for the first time while I had family in town and it was a huge hit. I followed another recommendation and I did 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound sausage. Regarding the sausage, anyone that has a Wholefoods close by....I highly recommend using the store made mild chicken Italian sausage. It so unbelievablely tastey! Also, next time I will make extra sauce so that I can pour some on the individual slices. Just a preference. Great recipe, thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I substituted rice for the lasagna because we have a diabetic child and it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Curran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I have prepared lasagna following this recipe a couple of times now and I Love it! Leaving the noodles in ice cold water really makes a difference in the consistency of the noodle. I make my own marinara sauce most of the time but once in a while I buy it and when I do I buy the best because if you want your lasagna to be the best you gotta buy the best ingredients! Thanx Chef John ... there's a few recipes of yours that I've tried and they are all fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
AMAZING! I substituted the beef and sausage with 99% fat free lean turkey, kept everything else the same. Best lasagna I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I rarely give 5 stars but this is a winner and loved the video that went along with it, really helped and easy to follow. Husband couldn't stop raving about it. I served it with a salad. The only thing negative is the ingredients list is a bit confusing, ricotta amount, but I figured it out. Will use and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is hands down, the BEST meat sauce recipe I've ever made. Thoroughly enjoyable and very easy to make. I used fresh crushed tomatoes in lieu of those from a can. After letting this sauce simmer overnight in my Le Creuset cast iron pot, I got up in the morning, baked the lasagna and the family and I enjoyed and early dinner meal that evening. The dish was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Totally weren't kidding about the min. requirements for pan size! My husband praised it though and he's not a red sauce lover. This will make a repeat performance in my kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is the best lasagna I've ever made taste wise and texture wise. It freezes beautifully as well. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Without a doubt an incredibly delicious lasagna. It made our Sunday dinner an unforgettable one that night. Didn't change a thing, perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
no not yet, but it looks good enough to know what it would taste like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States