Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Really good, not my favorite... but quick and easy. I always tend to make meatballs different every time based on my mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I was craving meatball subs tried this recipe and oh my gosh excellent. Only changes I made I didn't have an onion nor cloves of garlic I substituted dry onion flakes and minced garlic. Still very flavorful, rave review from my husband. I made the full recipe and froze extra meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
These are the best meatballs that I have ever made. I put them under the broiler they came out nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Hands down, the absolute best meatballs I've ever made! Thank you so much :) After baking I place them in a pan of leftover gravy on low for an hour, then served them over large wide egg noodles. Can't wait to try them with spaghetti sauce !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
OMG .... this is'a gewd meet'bawl !! Very quick easy to do, turned out super yummy, definitely will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Jo Meyers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jay W.
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Fantastic. I doubled the cheese, and made with 1 lb beef, 1/2 lb pork, 1/2 lb veal. VERY GOOD. Best meatballs I've ever made, and will use this recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Next time I will use a bit less red pepper flakes, but these were so yummy. They do hold up well. Cooked them in the sauce for about 20 min. They did hold up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I made this with 2 lbs of deer meat instead, by far the BEST meatballs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made these last night. Used 1 lb chicken Italian sausage and 1 pound ground round. Followed the recipe exactly except decreased the salt to a scant one teaspoon because of the salt in the sausage, and omitted the red pepper flakes. After cooking them in the oven I put them in my homemade sauce and cooked in the crockpot on low for a little over 3 hours. They were tender and flavorful, my picky husband even liked these! Some people had commented their meatballs turned out very hard, mine were anything but. I can only speculate that extremely lean ground meat was used or the bread crumbs were not left to absorb the milk for the full 20 minutes- a very important step. The consistency of the raw meat mixture is pretty wet and sticky, I used a large ice cream scoop to form the meatballs and got 24 out of the recipe. Cooking in the oven was great because they browned nicely and much of the fat cooked out. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Terrific. I usually don't make meatballs, because my husband constantly raves about his italian mothers, so I figured why bother. Well, now my granddaughter asked me to make meatballs, so I decided to give these a try. Let me just say my husband actually said "these are the best meatballs he ever ate" and the whole family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States