Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was my first time ever making meatballs. I thought they were a bit of a pain and did not add anything to a recipe. But my husband specifically asked for meatballs with his spaghetti so I decided to try this one since it did not call for them to be cooked twice like every other meatball recipe I have ever read. I could not be happier than if I had not had to make them at all! This recipe was super easy and super tasty! These were as easy as making meat loaf and tasted better! I cut the recipe in half for just the two of us and put the full recipe amount of the herbs as my husband likes things spicy. Even the red pepper flakes. They were not too hot even for me and I cannot tolerate a lot of hot. I would cut them in half for children though. I was worried about the salt because I don't care for a lot of salt but I left it alone this first time except for cutting it in half thinking if it was too salty I would cut it next time. It was just right. We both loved this recipe. If you try only one meatball recipe make it this one you will not be sorry! Thank you Chef John for sharing this super good and super easy meatball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These were the best! We used 2 lbs of beef and 1 lb pork, everything else the same. They were awesome. We freeze ours into smaller portions with our foodsaver, and just pop them into the crock pot around noon in sauce for them to be ready for dinner! We use grass fed beef and local pork from a local farm too. I feel much better about eating these than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. JOHNSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Best meatballs I've ever had. I made without he onion, and parsley after trying them with and liked them better without. Make them every time I make spaghetti now. The entire family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and they were really good. Quick and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These meatballs are delicious. I used 2# ground beef and no pork and left out pepper flakes. Baked them as directed and cooled. Served them on a long loaf of French bread which I had removed some bread so the meatballs would nestle in the loaf. Before adding meatballs spread a light coating of pesto on top and bottom, added meatballs and topped with provolone. Added another very light coating of pesto to top of loaf. Wrapped in foil and baked for 30 -40 minutes at 350. This sandwich was a huge hit with my family. Served with hot broccoli cauliflower beer cheese soup and tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made a few changes to make these more healthy and they were delicious. I can only imagine how good the original recipe is! Excellent as is or with sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Excellent! Made them as written and love having extras to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I grind my own pork and chicken or turkey meats. I used 1.5 lbs (1/3 each) ground chicken, pork and 85% grnd beef. I find when mixing the soaked bread crumbs (bit more crumbs, little less milk) with the egg, seasonings and parm...it incorporates into the meat better. I upped the seasonings a bit and instead of salt I used beef bouillon granules. I skipped cooking onions; used 2 t dried minced onions instead. I adjusted some ingredients due to using 3/4 of meat called for (24 oz). Oh yes, I make the mixture a day in advance to allow all flavors to develop. I baked at 375 for 15 mins, flipped and baked for 15 more. Due to the type meats I used, the meat balls are somewhat pale looking so I poured a tsp of gravy master (like kitchen bouquet) into the drippings and rolled the meat balls around in it. Looked a little more appealing (normal) this way. I shape mine a bit larger then a golf ball size. Great stuff CJ! (P.S. I wet my hands a few times while shaping meatballs...much neater.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The combination of great texture and taste makes this a standout winner. With countless reminders over the years, it’s no secret most Italian Americans believe their grandmother makes the best Italian meatballs. Chef John somehow figured out which one was the real deal, and pried it away from her. Great job, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made these three times. They are excellent just as the recipe is written. The third time I made them I added a little more crushed red pepper. After they cooked in the oven I simmered them a marinara sauce for a few hours then froze the leftovers. I LOVE these. Yummy!!! Next time I'm going to make a few large ones and have them in a sub/hogie/grinder roll with sauce and mozzarella cheese melted on top. PS. I typically get 30-35 meatballs with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete.from.Saratoga

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States