Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This family of four ate two batches in two days!! It was an instant fave and They are still singing my praises! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The only thing I didn't do was soak the breadcrumbs, but it was SO delicious!!!! I can't wait to make these again. I made meatball subs with them and literally everyone was coming back for seconds and thirds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
YUM!!!! The best meatballs ever! Were a big hit! I made them a little bigger than golf ball size and cooked them a little longer (for 25 minutes). They netted 24 meatballs total. I doubled the red pepper flakes, and although they were spicy, I loved them! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Wasn't bad overall... Good flavor and easy to cook. Not real kid friendly if with spaghetti though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! In fact, I've been looking long & hard for the best meatball recipe and this is it. By far the best Italian meatballs I've ever made and I will be making these from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Perfect. I made it the first time with just beef and pork and it was awesome! Today I decided to step it up by tripling the recipe and using 2 pounds each of beef, pork and veal. The tripled recipe yielded about about 70 good sized meatballs and the flavor was amazing! The first batch froze well and I don't see any reason these will not perform just as well. I paired these with Chef John's Tomato Sauce for a wonderful Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Everyone in my family loved these meatballs! I followed the directions for the most part but deviated slightly with the seasonings- I took the advice of another reviewer and increased the Italian seasonings to 1/2 tsp of basil, 1/2 tsp of oregano, and 1/4 tsp of thyme. I used fresh parsley and garlic and. Tsp of sugar. Wow! These were the best recipe I have followed on AR and will make these again and again. I will cut back on the amount of salt used- they were a tiny bit too salty for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This has become our go-to recipe for meatballs. We make huge batches, bake them all off and then freeze by the dozen in food saver bags. That way when we want some we just pop the entire food saver bag in the boiling water along with our spaghetti to reheat, heat some sauce and Manga manga!! The one change we make is that we do brown them in a skillet first. It gives them a nice brown color and crust. I know Chef John says you can skip this step - and you can - but it really shouldn't be skipped in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I doubled the seasonings. These meatballs are amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
These are by far the BEST meatballs I have ever had, never mind made. The first time I made them, we ate half of them right off the pan (we were "tasting" them). I have made them with olive oil and with canola oil. We liked the canola oil version more, but that is just personal taste. I'm actually making them again for dinner tonight ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States