Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We loved this recipe!! I used hot Italian sausage meat in place of the pork and they were so ridiculously good :) thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We just loved these meatballs. My husband has Celiac disease so I had to slightly alter this recipe to make it gluten free. I toasted a thick slice of homemade gluten free bread and then pulsed it up in the food processor, and used the crumbs in place of the regular breads crumbs. The only other alterations I made was that I used dried parsley (it's all I had) and I used .5t of oregano, .5t of rosemary, and .5t of thyme (because I didn't have Italian seasoning). I will be making this again for sure! Btw.....this recipe made 35 small meatballs. I baked the for 15 min and then popped them under the broiler for a minute or two just to amp up the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made these for last Friday for dinner they were marvelous. I poured meat sauce and marinara sauce over the baked meatballs and served with spaghetti noodles very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is hands down the best recipe for meatballs. I did only use ground beef however, and it still was amazing. I made the meatballs for a crowd and every last one was eaten! This is my only meatball recipe now. I also cooked them for about an hour more in my spaghetti sauce and they did not fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So I'm making this recipe, with a Vegetarian Husband, and 2 teenagers. Both our kids are not particularly fond of Meatballs.....This is a 'side' with our Spinach/mushroom Lasagna. So, I only did 1 lb total meat (grass fed beef), I cut in half the other ingredients. I did without the onions (didn't have any, and we're not big onion people). Substituted Dried Parsley. Had never baked Meatballs, and I have to say, I'm a fan! easy, less mess. I really liked the taste of these meatballs. I'm keeping this one, and will make again. Our daughter thought they were spicy, but I disagree. This is a keeper either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I do not review very many recipes, but I have come to really trust Chef John. No more frozen meatballs for me! These were really easy to make, and really good. My kids ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, but did place them on paper towels after cooking to let a little bit of the fat drain off. I used a meatloaf mix from the grocery store, that had ground beef pork and sausage. Made it really easy to do. Don't be intimidated to try your hand at homemade meatballs with this recipe. I'm glad that I did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Awesome! Added a tsp of minced garlic! My picky children even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is my first time making meatballs. I wasn't a HUGE fan to begin with (in my family, we always had meat sauce instead of meatballs with spaghetti). But my husband requested meatballs, and I usually love Chef John's recipes, so I tried this - but it was just okay. I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Did not take 2 hr 15 min to make as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy31179
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really tender and a great consistancy. Very greasy though after cooking. Was a tad dull but I'll just add more seasoning next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States