Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've made these twice now, and I don't think I'll ever bother to look for another recipe. For years -- well, decades -- I've gotten frustrated trying to fry meatballs without them falling apart, and they always turn out a bit tough if you get them dry enough to hold together. With these, the mixture is a bit wet, but it doesn't matter at all because they're baked, like miniature meat loaves, which is what good meatballs should be anyway. They're easy to make, turn out terrific -- tender and flavorful -- and cleanup is a snap as long as you use wide, heavy-duty foil so it completely covers the pan and doesn't tear. These will be a new standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Ive tried several meatball recipes over the years never finding one that just quite does it. This recipe is very very good. We love making it for spaghetti or meatball sandwiches. Awesome awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I love this. It's a bit too much onion. Next time, I think I"ll GRATE the onion. Might be less chunky onion flavor then. Really good if you sub Italian sausage for the pork (and therefore halve the salt)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Best meatballs ever! I've used this recipe for 2 yrs now. I make it once a month. Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Made this recipe the best meatballs ever. Pretty much went by the recipe except added some meatballs to the sauce thanks Chef John. Had friends over and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. Very similar to something that I've comeup with myself, without the parsley and cheese. The recipe I mad, I used hot italian sausage rather than pork sausage (which I've used in the past), I didn't have milk so I used buttermilk powder and water, and I didn't have straight Parmesan so I used an Italian blend. My end result was fantastic, but really the choice of a pork sausage rather than my choice of a hot Italian sausage (what the recipe called for) would have been much better. Milk vs. Buttermilk and Parmesean verses my Italian man x (good quality) were not important. The texture, moistness and general flavor (ignoring the hot Italian sausage) was absolutely FABULOUS....I will absolutely make this again withwhat the recipe calls for....ground pork, not my substitution of hot Italian sausage. This is a fabulous recipe, only flawed by my on substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very tasty meatballs !! Great success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Hi Chef. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand so I guesstimated a heaping Tbls of dried, and while I had nice freshly ground beef in the freezer the only pork I had was sweet Italian sausage, otherwise I followed your recipe. I love the bread crumb soaked in the milk Method you showed me. Thank you for a superb recipe, these meatballs are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my first time writing a review. My husband and I loved these meatballs. I made 19 meatballs using and ice cream scoop measuring 2 1/4 inches. I also used panko crumbs instead of pain bread crumbs. Instead of regular milk I used up my half & half. I put the meatballs that were left over (fully cooked) on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer and then placed them in a zip lock bag. This recipe is a five star. These are the best meatballs. Judy4 11-7-14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I'm sure this recipe is super delicious using the meats Chef John recommends, but I used ground turkey, and the meatballs were yummy. I loved baking them in the oven vs. tending to them over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Leger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States