Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made a few changes to make these more healthy and they were delicious. I can only imagine how good the original recipe is! Excellent as is or with sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Excellent! Made them as written and love having extras to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I grind my own pork and chicken or turkey meats. I used 1.5 lbs (1/3 each) ground chicken, pork and 85% grnd beef. I find when mixing the soaked bread crumbs (bit more crumbs, little less milk) with the egg, seasonings and parm...it incorporates into the meat better. I upped the seasonings a bit and instead of salt I used beef bouillon granules. I skipped cooking onions; used 2 t dried minced onions instead. I adjusted some ingredients due to using 3/4 of meat called for (24 oz). Oh yes, I make the mixture a day in advance to allow all flavors to develop. I baked at 375 for 15 mins, flipped and baked for 15 more. Due to the type meats I used, the meat balls are somewhat pale looking so I poured a tsp of gravy master (like kitchen bouquet) into the drippings and rolled the meat balls around in it. Looked a little more appealing (normal) this way. I shape mine a bit larger then a golf ball size. Great stuff CJ! (P.S. I wet my hands a few times while shaping meatballs...much neater.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The combination of great texture and taste makes this a standout winner. With countless reminders over the years, it’s no secret most Italian Americans believe their grandmother makes the best Italian meatballs. Chef John somehow figured out which one was the real deal, and pried it away from her. Great job, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made these three times. They are excellent just as the recipe is written. The third time I made them I added a little more crushed red pepper. After they cooked in the oven I simmered them a marinara sauce for a few hours then froze the leftovers. I LOVE these. Yummy!!! Next time I'm going to make a few large ones and have them in a sub/hogie/grinder roll with sauce and mozzarella cheese melted on top. PS. I typically get 30-35 meatballs with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete.from.Saratoga

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I rarely ever cook with beef or pork. I made them half venison half beef, they turned out fantastic! Making them again for my daughter's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made these meatballs for dinner tonight and they were delicious! The only change I made was to use just lean ground beef. They were easy to make, my grandson had fun helping me. They were moist and did not fall apart. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wow!! wonderful! I did reduce the milk to 1/3 cup but did soak the breadcrumbs in it. And I only had Italian breadcrumbs in my pantry so I used that. I also cooked them a bit longer in the oven and they were absolutely fabulous. I made my marinara sauce and beforehand and put the meatballs in the sauce after they came out of the oven. My husband and kids loved it. My 4 year old daughter, who never stops talking, had her little head in the bowl the entire time. haha. Try these...you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent! To be totally honest, though, I've never made homemade meatballs...eek! I buy the store-bought frozen kind (and I'm now hiding my head in shame...) Anyway, we really liked these. They were very simple--you must do a little bit of planning, obviously, as you can't just throw these into a dinner you've started at 5:00! But in spite of that, still very very simple. The meats I had on hand were 1.25 lbs. ground turkey, 1.25 lbs. ground beef, and 1 lb. ground venison; in total, 3.5 lbs. of meat. I used these three meats in total and adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Definitely held up really well! I'm proud to report I won't be buying those "artificial ingredient bombs" from the freezer section again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've been making my own meatballs for years but this past year I tried Meatball Nirvana which we decided was THE recipe. Out of curiosity I was browsing through the recipes and on a whim decided to try this recipe. I am happy I did! Not only were they delicious, they held together completely after baking and cooking in sauce! I made what I consider minor changes only because they were what I had on hand; lean ground beef, and Perfect Pinch Sicilian Seasoning instead of Italian seasoning and red pepper flakes. This has now become THE recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States