Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
They were too tough ... They need a lot more bread crumbs !! I was able to soften them up by cooking them in sauce for 4 hours but they still had a funny texture and lacked juiciness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made these meatballs for my husband's birthday and they were fantastic! I omitted the red pepper flakes (personal choice),used dried parsley instead of fresh and used 1-3/4 pounds of 20% ground beef (it's all I had in the house) and they still came out great. I will definitely be making these again, I can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe to the T and these meatballs came out with the texture of hamburger balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Thank You! This is a keeper. The only exception i made was to use all beef. As soon as they came out of the oven, I dipped one in the sauce simmering on the stove. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Ricupero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really, really good and I usually don't care much for meatballs. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this last night and it was unbelievable!!! I added more garlic and the same amount of parsley. Used venison, beef,pork and veal. Used or homemade sauce made from heirloom tomatoes we grow. Flavor! Flavor! Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
These are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made these delicious meatballs as per recipe w/ a few modifications that were due to lack of ingredients. I used pork sausage (I use it in my spaghetti sauce too) and used garlic and Italian herbs to season it. I mixed it with ground beef. I didn't have bread crumbs so I used panko and let it soak in a little milk. Then, I added the onion and garlic and seasonings. I added the meat, egg and made the meatballs. The mixture held together beautifully. Once baked, these were the best meatballs I've had! Great recipe! Maybe next time, I'll have all the ingredients on hand :) I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Yet another great recipe from Chef John!! Made these for meatball bombers. I left out the red pepper flakes and doubled the batch. Definitely use foil as these are messing while baking. They were gone in 2 days with 4 of us eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States