Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Only but the best from Chef John. These are the best meatballs I have ever tasted. Made them tonite for dinner and everyone devoured them! I made them for meatball subs but they were so good by themselves it didn't matter. Easy to make, I teamed with with a kale salad and it was a perfect dinner! Thank you again Chef John for an outstanding recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenominal! This is comfort food at its best! Only made slight adjustments...used gluten free bread crumbs & 1/2 cup ground parmagiano reggiano cheese (cuz I bought it and was bound to use it!). I also blended all dry ingredients together (including garlic & cheese) & separately blended lightly beaten eggs to the milk/bread crumb mixture before adding each to the meat mixture. (This was so I would have to handle the meat less.) Also, I made a test burger to check taste & consistency... it just needed a little more bread crumbs. It melted in my mouth! After baking 'til browned, into the simmering marinara sauce they went...heart be still...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
So delicious!!!!! I used a meatloaf mix for the meat, and left out the fresh parsley and red pepper flakes. I baked them for 15 minutes and they were perfect. I used a disher and it made 27 meatballs. Next time I will cut out a little of the salt, but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Best meatballs I have ever tasted. Made as written but used dried parsley and meatball mix meat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I tried these meatballs for the first time today. I made them exactly according to the recipe like I always do when I try something for the first time. Whenever I am looking for a particular recipe I always try Chef John's first so this was a little disappointing. I'd like to make a few comments that others can use or take with a grain of salt (excuse the pun): 1.The red pepper didn't make the meatballs spicy or hot so I wouldn't hesitate to use it again. 2.The meatballs were not "Italian" enough for me so I, like others, would increase the Italian spices or use fresh & 4 cloves of garlic would have been better than three. 3.The onions only took about 10 minutes to become transparent. You don't want them to brown and taste like "fried" onions so watch carefully. 4. The recipe had too much onion and made them taste like meatloaf. I would cut back or eliminate next time. 5. I felt 40 smaller meatballs would be better in the sauce. I made thirty but they seemed big. 6. Mine browned only slightly but I didn't keep them in longer as I didn't want them to dry out. May try 450 degrees & decrease the time if I decrease size. 7. I used at least 1/2 cup of parsley, pressed down, and it was fine. Question: Any tips on how to keep them from going flat on the bottom? All in all a pretty good recipe I will try again. Video shows good instructions for forming and mixing. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milena D.
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I have lived in the US for about 4 years and meatballs have been the hardest challenge so far... UNTIL NOW!!! I always thought it was just some difference in the meat between here and Europe but I am certain now - it all boils down to the spices! The combination of those here is simply amazing! The only things I changed were the olive oil (put less) and the eggs (used egg whites instead). I did not put thyme in but only 'cos I didn't have any. They did take longer to cook (about 30 min) and my oven usually cooks faster than average, so I'll have to keep that in mind for future reference. But overall - this recipe is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Best meatball recipe I've ever made. Not much competition since I've never made meatballs before! ;) the meatballs were flavorful, moist, tender, easy to make, and browned up well in the oven. The recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
These were awesome! Forgot to add the milk, and didn't think they were dry. Did pan fry them, which reduces the fat slightly. Baked them with gnocchi covered with 1 jar sauce, 1 C mozz cheese, parm, and sliced fontina, about 3 oz. Baked at 350 degrees x 30 min. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States