Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent and versatile. Great with tomato-based sauces or mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Excellent. Moist, and tasty! The only thing I did different is After they where in the oven for about 15 min. I put them into my sauce and finished cooking them on the stove top in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
We all loved them! So much flavor that you don't even need BBQ sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this recipe just as it is stated and loved it, both of my daughters loved them and they are glad it makes enough to freeze so I can use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I cooked up a batch and a half of these - they were truly kick- meatballs! The only mods were doubling the hot pepper, using dried parsley, and using grated Pecorino Romano. I cooked half on the tray as described and half in a mini-muffin tray. The ones in the mini-muffin tray browned wonderfully in their own fat. I'm glad I cooked more as the wife and I wolfed down a bunch after coming out of the oven. Thank you, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I started to make this recipe exactly as the recipe states but had tremendous issues after adding the eggs. It produced a rather loose mixture that I could not roll up. I did use eggs from my chickens so the sizing may have been off but the recipe does not mention egg size. I used 2 large eggs and I shall change that to 2 medium eggs next time. I ended up having to add a lot more breadcrumbs to make up for the wetness of the mixture. As others had mentioned I regret not cooking these on a tray that would drain the grease. Also something I will do next time. Overall great flavour. After my adjustment they held together and held their shape. I did cook the meatballs for a little longer than specified but more to time with the rest of the meal. I wish I had taken them out at the right time (tasted and they were perfect) as they ended up a little chewy leaving them in for a little longer. Thanks for sharing. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Love these meatballs but I usually fry them before adding to my sauce. Ground pork harder to find so I often make with just beef and they are still very good. Have a slightly spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Only but the best from Chef John. These are the best meatballs I have ever tasted. Made them tonite for dinner and everyone devoured them! I made them for meatball subs but they were so good by themselves it didn't matter. Easy to make, I teamed with with a kale salad and it was a perfect dinner! Thank you again Chef John for an outstanding recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenominal! This is comfort food at its best! Only made slight adjustments...used gluten free bread crumbs & 1/2 cup ground parmagiano reggiano cheese (cuz I bought it and was bound to use it!). I also blended all dry ingredients together (including garlic & cheese) & separately blended lightly beaten eggs to the milk/bread crumb mixture before adding each to the meat mixture. (This was so I would have to handle the meat less.) Also, I made a test burger to check taste & consistency... it just needed a little more bread crumbs. It melted in my mouth! After baking 'til browned, into the simmering marinara sauce they went...heart be still...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States