Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Really yummy. I had to make a few changes based on what I had on hand, but they were still super delicious. I didn't have time to cook the onion, so I just chopped it into really small pieces. I omitted the crushed red pepper to keep it from being too spicy for my toddler, and I used basil instead of parsley, and freshly grated pecorrino-Romano instead of shake cheese. To type it, it sounds like a lot of changes, but it really was just a few minor switches. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
The very best...ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laisw
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I only had a pound of ground beef and no pork so I had to make some changes. I also read the top 6 or so reviews before making this and learned from many mistakes. I used about 1/3 the recommended milk after halving the recipe, and put the meatballs on a cooling rack on top of a baking sheet to cook. I also left out the part where you cool it in the fridge for an hour because I was too impatient. Cooked them for 20 minutes, then put them in marinara sauce and heated it on the range for about 12 minutes. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
AMAZING!!! I will never make a meat sauce again. I cut the recipe in half, but accidentally used a whole onion rather than half.. it was still amazing. They have so much flavour! I make them all the time now! LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
so, so, so good! we don't like meatballs, but we loved this! YUMMMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
We just finished dinner using these meatballs. They are excellent. Great flavor and I did not have a lot of oil left on cookie sheet after cooking them. My husband said "tasty" after eating them. (He hardly EVER expresses his opinion after eating).Defiantly 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
LOVE these meatballs. I've made them a handful of times and everyone always raves for them. I follow the recipe to a T, except Iuse fresh chopped Italian parsley instead of regular. I also prepare them exactly as directed but once they are finished baking in the oven, I put them into a slow cooker with a large can of whole peeled tomatoes and some sliced red and green peppers for flavor and let it all cook together on low for a few hours to let the flavors meld, then we spoon the resulting sauce over the meatballs and cooked noodles. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Good 'ol Chef John. Thank you so much for making a cook out of me. I usually buy my Italian Meatballs at Mariano's becuase they are pretty good. Unfortunatley, I forgot about them and then spoiled. Being at our place in WI, Mariano's is not around. Looked up Chef John for the rescue. Thanks to his wonderful recipe and Allrecipes allowing me to select the correct serving size, dinner was a hit! No more store bought Italian Meatballs for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I have made a lot of different types of meatballs. These where not only easy to make, but they were delicious! Made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Loved these meatballs! Very flavorful. I used all ground beef but otherwise as stated. I love Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States