Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
OMG! These are the best meatballs! My niece and I made them and they were to die for. I later modified the recipe and made a meatloaf. It was equally fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome. . Hubby said very good! Will make again. I only had 1# of ground beef and no fresh parsley. Will try next time with all ingredients. Thanks Followed exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raevenn
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is THE best meatball ever! I followed the recipe exactly (half batch for the two of us), and it came out perfect. I didn't have an issue with the mix being too wet. I wonder if some didn't soak the breadcrumbs in the milk first, or long enough...doing this almost forms a paste so the milk doesn't make the mix sloppy. Half a batch made 17 meatballs, which worked out great for a two night meal. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Phenomenal! I doubled the recipe,thankfully, and used equal parts beef/country sausage and spicy Italian sausage - followed everything else to the T. My husband needed me to run an errand for him, but his disclaimer was: "...unless you need time to make more spaghetti and meatballs!" : ) The ULTIMATE compliment from the man who has made my favorite meatballs for 20 years! Even my 12 yr old son gobbled them up...I froze the leftover meatballs 2 days ago and already had to thaw and make more sauce to accommodate them, as my son wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
these meatballs are fantastic! although, I used garlic powder and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are the best. Fail proof recipe. Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My family loved this recipe. Only change I would make next time would be to use sweet sausage or light sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It was awesome!! I used what I had. Didn't have beef or pork, used ground turkey. Didn't have Italian seasoning so I used oregano and thyme, running out of seasonings or I would have added some rosemary too. I like my meatballs spicy so I used 1 full tsp of red pepper flakes I used Parmesan and Romano, used Italian seasoned panko bread crumbs, didn't chill and used my small cookie scooper. Didn't cook down the onions used sweet onions and left them in chunks. Sprinkled a little bit of kosher salt over the top and baked them. At the end I broiled meatballs for an extra minute or two and it was awesome. I added them into my bolognese and it held up without issue. My partner loved them said thought they had tons of flavor and were super moist. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've made these twice now, and I don't think I'll ever bother to look for another recipe. For years -- well, decades -- I've gotten frustrated trying to fry meatballs without them falling apart, and they always turn out a bit tough if you get them dry enough to hold together. With these, the mixture is a bit wet, but it doesn't matter at all because they're baked, like miniature meat loaves, which is what good meatballs should be anyway. They're easy to make, turn out terrific -- tender and flavorful -- and cleanup is a snap as long as you use wide, heavy-duty foil so it completely covers the pan and doesn't tear. These will be a new standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Ive tried several meatball recipes over the years never finding one that just quite does it. This recipe is very very good. We love making it for spaghetti or meatball sandwiches. Awesome awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States