Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Ive tried several meatball recipes over the years never finding one that just quite does it. This recipe is very very good. We love making it for spaghetti or meatball sandwiches. Awesome awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I love this. It's a bit too much onion. Next time, I think I"ll GRATE the onion. Might be less chunky onion flavor then. Really good if you sub Italian sausage for the pork (and therefore halve the salt)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Best meatballs ever! I've used this recipe for 2 yrs now. I make it once a month. Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Made this recipe the best meatballs ever. Pretty much went by the recipe except added some meatballs to the sauce thanks Chef John. Had friends over and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. Very similar to something that I've comeup with myself, without the parsley and cheese. The recipe I mad, I used hot italian sausage rather than pork sausage (which I've used in the past), I didn't have milk so I used buttermilk powder and water, and I didn't have straight Parmesan so I used an Italian blend. My end result was fantastic, but really the choice of a pork sausage rather than my choice of a hot Italian sausage (what the recipe called for) would have been much better. Milk vs. Buttermilk and Parmesean verses my Italian man x (good quality) were not important. The texture, moistness and general flavor (ignoring the hot Italian sausage) was absolutely FABULOUS....I will absolutely make this again withwhat the recipe calls for....ground pork, not my substitution of hot Italian sausage. This is a fabulous recipe, only flawed by my on substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very tasty meatballs !! Great success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Hi Chef. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand so I guesstimated a heaping Tbls of dried, and while I had nice freshly ground beef in the freezer the only pork I had was sweet Italian sausage, otherwise I followed your recipe. I love the bread crumb soaked in the milk Method you showed me. Thank you for a superb recipe, these meatballs are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my first time writing a review. My husband and I loved these meatballs. I made 19 meatballs using and ice cream scoop measuring 2 1/4 inches. I also used panko crumbs instead of pain bread crumbs. Instead of regular milk I used up my half & half. I put the meatballs that were left over (fully cooked) on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer and then placed them in a zip lock bag. This recipe is a five star. These are the best meatballs. Judy4 11-7-14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I'm sure this recipe is super delicious using the meats Chef John recommends, but I used ground turkey, and the meatballs were yummy. I loved baking them in the oven vs. tending to them over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Leger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Chef...you listening?? I used a pack of ground beef and a pack of mild Italian sausage, all other ingredients readily available. These little beauties stopped DH when he walked through the door with a "please tell me that smell is coming from our stove and not a candle"! I always follow a recipe as written unless I am forced to sub an item because I simply do not have it. I followed this to the letter. I made homemade bread to go with, tossed a salad and it was the best Italian night ever. There was plenty leftover even after I packed some for DH's lunch. Still had a lot to go into the freezer for another meal. I have deleted all other meatball recipes. They were simply taking up space. This is meatball heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States