Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Next time I will use a bit less red pepper flakes, but these were so yummy. They do hold up well. Cooked them in the sauce for about 20 min. They did hold up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I made this with 2 lbs of deer meat instead, by far the BEST meatballs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made these last night. Used 1 lb chicken Italian sausage and 1 pound ground round. Followed the recipe exactly except decreased the salt to a scant one teaspoon because of the salt in the sausage, and omitted the red pepper flakes. After cooking them in the oven I put them in my homemade sauce and cooked in the crockpot on low for a little over 3 hours. They were tender and flavorful, my picky husband even liked these! Some people had commented their meatballs turned out very hard, mine were anything but. I can only speculate that extremely lean ground meat was used or the bread crumbs were not left to absorb the milk for the full 20 minutes- a very important step. The consistency of the raw meat mixture is pretty wet and sticky, I used a large ice cream scoop to form the meatballs and got 24 out of the recipe. Cooking in the oven was great because they browned nicely and much of the fat cooked out. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Terrific. I usually don't make meatballs, because my husband constantly raves about his italian mothers, so I figured why bother. Well, now my granddaughter asked me to make meatballs, so I decided to give these a try. Let me just say my husband actually said "these are the best meatballs he ever ate" and the whole family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great flavor but they were too tough ... They need a lot more bread crumbs !! I was able to soften them up by cooking them in sauce for 4 hours but they still had a funny texture and lacked juiciness ?? sorry chef john I love all your recipes and cook a ton of them and they rock but I'm not a fan of this one ... I'm gonna stick with my recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made these meatballs for my husband's birthday and they were fantastic! I omitted the red pepper flakes (personal choice),used dried parsley instead of fresh and used 1-3/4 pounds of 20% ground beef (it's all I had in the house) and they still came out great. I will definitely be making these again, I can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe to the T and these meatballs came out with the texture of hamburger balls. 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs is nowhere near enough to give the meatballs a fork tender texture. I even used a Sous vide oven set to 145F to ensure the meatballs did not get over cooked. If you want hamburger balls follow this recipe. If you want fork tender meatballs use atleasst 1/2 cup to 1 cup of breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Thank You! This is a keeper. The only exception i made was to use all beef. As soon as they came out of the oven, I dipped one in the sauce simmering on the stove. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Ricupero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really, really good and I usually don't care much for meatballs. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this last night and it was unbelievable!!! I added more garlic and the same amount of parsley. Used venison, beef,pork and veal. Used or homemade sauce made from heirloom tomatoes we grow. Flavor! Flavor! Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States