Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We loved this recipe and the kids loved it too! We made some minor modifications - we made the meatballs about 2-3 times the size and instead of cooking in the sauce for 1 to 2 hours, we simply took out of the oven and topped with some homemade tomato sauce and served it. We did make smaller meatballs for the kids and let them dip the meatballs into the sauce. A definite family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I did tweak this recipe a bit. I didn't saute the onion, put it in the food processor (after I made my bread crumbs), and then added all of the wet ingredients with the bread crumbs and let it sit. I added the meat and mixed all together by hand. The meat mixture was a bit loose (wet) and I thought it would be a mess, but they were great!!! I'm sure the flavor would have been even better had I sauteed the onion. This will be my go-to recipe for meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
theae are the bomb. Hubby got up in the night and ate another plate. Made very few changes due to personal taste( no black pepper or pepper flakes, more parmesan and added minced green pepper). Cooked the meatballs and cut up italian sausage in cheap canned sauce in the oven, let it cool and skimmed the fat, awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Chef John, you rock! These are so yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Excellent ! Will make again. Had enough for spaghetti and meatballs, meatball subs, and froze 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My son love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fantastic Italian meatballs!!! I doubled the dried herbs and cooked them about 5 min less than supposed to and finished them off by cooking in a big pot of my marinara sauce. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Do yourself a favor and make these meatballs. So flavorful. I will never buy frozen meatballs again. Added fennel seed to the onions while sweating. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. Thought these were going to be too salty but not the case. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious! I baked for 30 minutes since I had other things in the works and they browned beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States