Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
These are by far the BEST meatballs I have ever had, never mind made. The first time I made them, we ate half of them right off the pan (we were "tasting" them). I have made them with olive oil and with canola oil. We liked the canola oil version more, but that is just personal taste. I'm actually making them again for dinner tonight ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My mother used to make the most delicious Italian meatballs, but as they were fried, I rarely make them. Seeing that this recipe bakes the meatballs, and was rated five stars, I had to try them. I used hot venison sausage with regular ground venison, and other than omitting the red pepper flakes, followed the recipe. Absolutely delicious! My husband said they were every bit as good as my mother's fried version. I froze the leftovers, and just pop some in my spaghetti sauce when needed, but we have thawed some just to eat alone and they are every bit as good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TJBIGEL1
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Awesome!!!! My daughter and husband made them. Instead of Italian seasoning we used Tastefully Simple Garlic Bread Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NurseCarol1974
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe three times and got great reviews each time. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I used bulk hot Italian sausage for the ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseCarol1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
They were delicious. However, I only put them in the fridge for half an hour. When I was rolling them up into balls, the meat seemed a little watery. Other than that, my family loved it and I plan on definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
i have tried this recipes but would reduce the pepper in half. and do the same for the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made these meatballs for dinner this evening, and they were absolutely fantastic. I used ground beef and ground turkey but otherwise followed the recipe. My husband loved them, also. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
These were really good. Only thing was the meatballs lost half their size while cooking. Next time I'll use a leaner meat or make them bigger and put them on a cake rack or broil pan so they're not sitting in so much liquid at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Best meatballs I ever made. I added more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Very good! Didn't refrigerate the meatballs before cooking....other than that followed exactly. They held up well when added to sauce. Oh and i didn't use foil on the pan either. I don't think it's necessary, they did not stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 41-50 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States