Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I tried these meatballs for the first time today. I made them exactly according to the recipe like I always do when I try something for the first time. Whenever I am looking for a particular recipe I always try Chef John's first so this was a little disappointing. I'd like to make a few comments that others can use or take with a grain of salt (excuse the pun): 1.The red pepper didn't make the meatballs spicy or hot so I wouldn't hesitate to use it again. 2.The meatballs were not "Italian" enough for me so I, like others, would increase the Italian spices or use fresh & 4 cloves of garlic would have been better than three. 3.The onions only took about 10 minutes to become transparent. You don't want them to brown and taste like "fried" onions so watch carefully. 4. The recipe had too much onion and made them taste like meatloaf. I would cut back or eliminate next time. 5. I felt 40 smaller meatballs would be better in the sauce. I made thirty but they seemed big. 6. Mine browned only slightly but I didn't keep them in longer as I didn't want them to dry out. May try 450 degrees & decrease the time if I decrease size. 7. I used at least 1/2 cup of parsley, pressed down, and it was fine. Question: Any tips on how to keep them from going flat on the bottom? All in all a pretty good recipe I will try again. Video shows good instructions for forming and mixing. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milena D.
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I have lived in the US for about 4 years and meatballs have been the hardest challenge so far... UNTIL NOW!!! I always thought it was just some difference in the meat between here and Europe but I am certain now - it all boils down to the spices! The combination of those here is simply amazing! The only things I changed were the olive oil (put less) and the eggs (used egg whites instead). I did not put thyme in but only 'cos I didn't have any. They did take longer to cook (about 30 min) and my oven usually cooks faster than average, so I'll have to keep that in mind for future reference. But overall - this recipe is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Best meatball recipe I've ever made. Not much competition since I've never made meatballs before! ;) the meatballs were flavorful, moist, tender, easy to make, and browned up well in the oven. The recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
These were awesome! Forgot to add the milk, and didn't think they were dry. Did pan fry them, which reduces the fat slightly. Baked them with gnocchi covered with 1 jar sauce, 1 C mozz cheese, parm, and sliced fontina, about 3 oz. Baked at 350 degrees x 30 min. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These are amazing! I have recommended this recipe to many people. I saute the meatballs in sauce while the spaghetti is cooking. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good tasting. The only thing is that if you bake them like we always do, they flatten out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this for my family and they loved it!! We added more pepper flakes since we Love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Absolutely loved these meatballs! Have made them twice so far, and they will be my only meatball recipe from now on. They hold together beautifully (even when defrosted in the micro and simmered in sauce after) and are moist and flavorful. I didn't have ground pork so it was ground beef only. Also didn't have fresh parsley so used dried, and omitted the red pepper flakes, so slightly changed but still keeping within the spirit of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've been looking for the right meatball recipe ever since the cooking duties fell to me when I became a stay at home dad. This one nails it perfectly for me. No more frozen meatballs for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo!Philly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States