Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Thanks you soo much for thise recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Can't say enough about how delicious these are. I increased the meat to 3 pounds and adjusted accordingly, thinking the original recipe would not feed my family of 6. Needless to say, we have leftovers (and the family is grateful!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These are very tasty, and it makes a lot! They freeze well, hold their shape after defrosting and taste just as good as when they're fresh. They're great to have on hand for those nights when you feel lazy, just let them defrost, reheat/brown in pan, add sauce and pasta, done, great low-effort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I cannot believe how simple this was. I omitted the onion because I was making these for picky kids and they were still delicious! I also skipped the one hour in the fridge. YUMMY! Freezing extras for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So, so good! But feeling lazy, I skipped sautéing the onions in olive oil and simply very finely chopped them and added them right into the meat mixture. They cooked beautifully and perfectly within the meatball in the oven. I leave out the pepper flakes (just personal reference) and add basil and a bit of oregano. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Made as is and they were fantastic. Next time I would like to make a double batch & freeze what I don't use. Any thoughts on whether or not to freeze them raw or cooked? It's just my wife & I and we would only use maybe 2- 4 meatballs at one setting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchy8560

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe is excellent. My husband and I loved them, and my husband enjoyed eating the leftovers as meatballs subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was my first time ever making meatballs. I thought they were a bit of a pain and did not add anything to a recipe. But my husband specifically asked for meatballs with his spaghetti so I decided to try this one since it did not call for them to be cooked twice like every other meatball recipe I have ever read. I could not be happier than if I had not had to make them at all! This recipe was super easy and super tasty! These were as easy as making meat loaf and tasted better! I cut the recipe in half for just the two of us and put the full recipe amount of the herbs as my husband likes things spicy. Even the red pepper flakes. They were not too hot even for me and I cannot tolerate a lot of hot. I would cut them in half for children though. I was worried about the salt because I don't care for a lot of salt but I left it alone this first time except for cutting it in half thinking if it was too salty I would cut it next time. It was just right. We both loved this recipe. If you try only one meatball recipe make it this one you will not be sorry! Thank you Chef John for sharing this super good and super easy meatball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These were the best! We used 2 lbs of beef and 1 lb pork, everything else the same. They were awesome. We freeze ours into smaller portions with our foodsaver, and just pop them into the crock pot around noon in sauce for them to be ready for dinner! We use grass fed beef and local pork from a local farm too. I feel much better about eating these than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. JOHNSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States