Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Enjoyed the flavour and the moistness. I used only lean beef and was pleased with the final result. This recipe was easy to prepare and I'm sure it will be my go to meatball recipe. Once again Chef John provides a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
MEATBALL SANDWICHES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very easy! Made them as the recipe was written except I didn't have regular bread crumbs... Only Italian breadcrumbs. Was very tasty. Served with spaghetti. Family loved it. Will keep this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Best Meatballs I ever made.. family was in heaven!! This recipe is a keeper. I followed it to the tee and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We loved this recipe!! I used hot Italian sausage meat in place of the pork and they were so ridiculously good :) thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We just loved these meatballs. My husband has Celiac disease so I had to slightly alter this recipe to make it gluten free. I toasted a thick slice of homemade gluten free bread and then pulsed it up in the food processor, and used the crumbs in place of the regular breads crumbs. The only other alterations I made was that I used dried parsley (it's all I had) and I used .5t of oregano, .5t of rosemary, and .5t of thyme (because I didn't have Italian seasoning). I will be making this again for sure! Btw.....this recipe made 35 small meatballs. I baked the for 15 min and then popped them under the broiler for a minute or two just to amp up the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made these for last Friday for dinner they were marvelous. I poured meat sauce and marinara sauce over the baked meatballs and served with spaghetti noodles very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is hands down the best recipe for meatballs. I did only use ground beef however, and it still was amazing. I made the meatballs for a crowd and every last one was eaten! This is my only meatball recipe now. I also cooked them for about an hour more in my spaghetti sauce and they did not fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So I'm making this recipe, with a Vegetarian Husband, and 2 teenagers. Both our kids are not particularly fond of Meatballs.....This is a 'side' with our Spinach/mushroom Lasagna. So, I only did 1 lb total meat (grass fed beef), I cut in half the other ingredients. I did without the onions (didn't have any, and we're not big onion people). Substituted Dried Parsley. Had never baked Meatballs, and I have to say, I'm a fan! easy, less mess. I really liked the taste of these meatballs. I'm keeping this one, and will make again. Our daughter thought they were spicy, but I disagree. This is a keeper either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I do not review very many recipes, but I have come to really trust Chef John. No more frozen meatballs for me! These were really easy to make, and really good. My kids ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, but did place them on paper towels after cooking to let a little bit of the fat drain off. I used a meatloaf mix from the grocery store, that had ground beef pork and sausage. Made it really easy to do. Don't be intimidated to try your hand at homemade meatballs with this recipe. I'm glad that I did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States