Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
We all loved them! So much flavor that you don't even need BBQ sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this recipe just as it is stated and loved it, both of my daughters loved them and they are glad it makes enough to freeze so I can use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I cooked up a batch and a half of these - they were truly kick- meatballs! The only mods were doubling the hot pepper, using dried parsley, and using grated Pecorino Romano. I cooked half on the tray as described and half in a mini-muffin tray. The ones in the mini-muffin tray browned wonderfully in their own fat. I'm glad I cooked more as the wife and I wolfed down a bunch after coming out of the oven. Thank you, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I started to make this recipe exactly as the recipe states but had tremendous issues after adding the eggs. It produced a rather loose mixture that I could not roll up. I did use eggs from my chickens so the sizing may have been off but the recipe does not mention egg size. I used 2 large eggs and I shall change that to 2 medium eggs next time. I ended up having to add a lot more breadcrumbs to make up for the wetness of the mixture. As others had mentioned I regret not cooking these on a tray that would drain the grease. Also something I will do next time. Overall great flavour. After my adjustment they held together and held their shape. I did cook the meatballs for a little longer than specified but more to time with the rest of the meal. I wish I had taken them out at the right time (tasted and they were perfect) as they ended up a little chewy leaving them in for a little longer. Thanks for sharing. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Love these meatballs but I usually fry them before adding to my sauce. Ground pork harder to find so I often make with just beef and they are still very good. Have a slightly spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Only but the best from Chef John. These are the best meatballs I have ever tasted. Made them tonite for dinner and everyone devoured them! I made them for meatball subs but they were so good by themselves it didn't matter. Easy to make, I teamed with with a kale salad and it was a perfect dinner! Thank you again Chef John for an outstanding recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenominal! This is comfort food at its best! Only made slight adjustments...used gluten free bread crumbs & 1/2 cup ground parmagiano reggiano cheese (cuz I bought it and was bound to use it!). I also blended all dry ingredients together (including garlic & cheese) & separately blended lightly beaten eggs to the milk/bread crumb mixture before adding each to the meat mixture. (This was so I would have to handle the meat less.) Also, I made a test burger to check taste & consistency... it just needed a little more bread crumbs. It melted in my mouth! After baking 'til browned, into the simmering marinara sauce they went...heart be still...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
So delicious!!!!! I used a meatloaf mix for the meat, and left out the fresh parsley and red pepper flakes. I baked them for 15 minutes and they were perfect. I used a disher and it made 27 meatballs. Next time I will cut out a little of the salt, but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States