Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So I'm making this recipe, with a Vegetarian Husband, and 2 teenagers. Both our kids are not particularly fond of Meatballs.....This is a 'side' with our Spinach/mushroom Lasagna. So, I only did 1 lb total meat (grass fed beef), I cut in half the other ingredients. I did without the onions (didn't have any, and we're not big onion people). Substituted Dried Parsley. Had never baked Meatballs, and I have to say, I'm a fan! easy, less mess. I really liked the taste of these meatballs. I'm keeping this one, and will make again. Our daughter thought they were spicy, but I disagree. This is a keeper either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I do not review very many recipes, but I have come to really trust Chef John. No more frozen meatballs for me! These were really easy to make, and really good. My kids ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, but did place them on paper towels after cooking to let a little bit of the fat drain off. I used a meatloaf mix from the grocery store, that had ground beef pork and sausage. Made it really easy to do. Don't be intimidated to try your hand at homemade meatballs with this recipe. I'm glad that I did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Awesome! Added a tsp of minced garlic! My picky children even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is my first time making meatballs. I wasn't a HUGE fan to begin with (in my family, we always had meat sauce instead of meatballs with spaghetti). But my husband requested meatballs, and I usually love Chef John's recipes, so I tried this - but it was just okay. I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Did not take 2 hr 15 min to make as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really tender and a great consistancy. Very greasy though after cooking. Was a tad dull but I'll just add more seasoning next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by MissMeli
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
i changed a lot about this recipe. i used only one pack of ground turkey, garlic salt instead of garlic or salt, extra bread crumbs, still two eggs, some catsup for tang and 2 tablespoons of red wine to bring out the flavour, and added oregano and sage and no italian seasoning, and.. it tasted incredible!! i basically used the recipe as a base and added my own touch. still my whole family was obsessed with the great flavour!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
An actual meatball recipe I like! I carmalized the onions...because i love that flavor...and used fresh herbs from my garden. Definetly making this again! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very tasty! I halved the recipe, added a bit more garlic since we love it, a bit more on the spices and it turned out great! I like to make meatballs in my cupcake pan to help contain any runoff and help them keep shape. Cooked about 30 min this way, simmered with sauce 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These were delicious. We had been to Chicago and I had authentic italian spaghetti and meatballs and they were so good that I was looking for a recipe to replicate this. This was really close and everyone loved them! This will be my way to cook spaghetti and meatballs from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 121-130 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States