Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We just loved these meatballs. My husband has Celiac disease so I had to slightly alter this recipe to make it gluten free. I toasted a thick slice of homemade gluten free bread and then pulsed it up in the food processor, and used the crumbs in place of the regular breads crumbs. The only other alterations I made was that I used dried parsley (it's all I had) and I used .5t of oregano, .5t of rosemary, and .5t of thyme (because I didn't have Italian seasoning). I will be making this again for sure! Btw.....this recipe made 35 small meatballs. I baked the for 15 min and then popped them under the broiler for a minute or two just to amp up the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made these for last Friday for dinner they were marvelous. I poured meat sauce and marinara sauce over the baked meatballs and served with spaghetti noodles very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is hands down the best recipe for meatballs. I did only use ground beef however, and it still was amazing. I made the meatballs for a crowd and every last one was eaten! This is my only meatball recipe now. I also cooked them for about an hour more in my spaghetti sauce and they did not fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So I'm making this recipe, with a Vegetarian Husband, and 2 teenagers. Both our kids are not particularly fond of Meatballs.....This is a 'side' with our Spinach/mushroom Lasagna. So, I only did 1 lb total meat (grass fed beef), I cut in half the other ingredients. I did without the onions (didn't have any, and we're not big onion people). Substituted Dried Parsley. Had never baked Meatballs, and I have to say, I'm a fan! easy, less mess. I really liked the taste of these meatballs. I'm keeping this one, and will make again. Our daughter thought they were spicy, but I disagree. This is a keeper either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I do not review very many recipes, but I have come to really trust Chef John. No more frozen meatballs for me! These were really easy to make, and really good. My kids ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, but did place them on paper towels after cooking to let a little bit of the fat drain off. I used a meatloaf mix from the grocery store, that had ground beef pork and sausage. Made it really easy to do. Don't be intimidated to try your hand at homemade meatballs with this recipe. I'm glad that I did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Awesome! Added a tsp of minced garlic! My picky children even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is my first time making meatballs. I wasn't a HUGE fan to begin with (in my family, we always had meat sauce instead of meatballs with spaghetti). But my husband requested meatballs, and I usually love Chef John's recipes, so I tried this - but it was just okay. I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Did not take 2 hr 15 min to make as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really tender and a great consistancy. Very greasy though after cooking. Was a tad dull but I'll just add more seasoning next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by MissMeli
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
i changed a lot about this recipe. i used only one pack of ground turkey, garlic salt instead of garlic or salt, extra bread crumbs, still two eggs, some catsup for tang and 2 tablespoons of red wine to bring out the flavour, and added oregano and sage and no italian seasoning, and.. it tasted incredible!! i basically used the recipe as a base and added my own touch. still my whole family was obsessed with the great flavour!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States