Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I forgot to soak the crumbs in milk and left out the hot pepper flakes and onion but the basic pork/beef and seasonings make a tasty meatball! I am sure they are better with fresh parsley but I often use dry herbs and it works ok too. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 25 minutes when done I poured a jar of spaghetti sauce over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I just made these for dinner with spaghetti, followed the recipe to a T and it turned out really good. Will be making again, thank you for sharing! I just made your apple pie as well and am waiting on it to cool, looks amazing and can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have tried many recipes, and was very happy to find this one that did not disappoint. These were tender (yes- finally), a little spicy, flavorful, not mushy. The changes I made: Italian sausage instead of pork, Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, Pecorino Romano cheese instead of Parmesan, added, 1 teasp onion powder, 1 teasp garlic powder, let mixture sit in fridge overnight, rolled the balls in breadcrumbs before baking, baked on parchment paper. These were beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These meatballs were soo good, even our picky 3 year old granddaughter ate one! She told me I was a good cooker, lol! I told her thanks to Chef John! I followed it to the letter. Will be using this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Wow, these were really yummy! The flavors and texture was perfect. Since me nor my boyfriend like onions much and they were flaunting themselves all over the outside of these bad boys, I was kinda surprised we tore into them so much! I had to make a few adjustments out of necessity, only had beef, no pork, used dried parsley, and doubled the Italian seasoning as per another's suggestion. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and have yet to make a change to it. This recipe is perfect just the way it is! It all started when my fiance wanted to make meatballs in a mushroom sauce for a company potluck, and they were such a hit that his coworkers ask us to make them every company potluck (people request the recipe for them too!) I usually double the recipe and freeze the meatballs for easy future suppers. Don't change a thing, they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Super fantastic recipe from Chef Jon.....I can not thank you enough for this recipe...I used to buy the ready made frozen meat balls, as I could never seem to get them right when I made them myself.....Now I can make them and everyone that has them loves them!! I also use this recipe at work now (I am a manager of a commercial kitchen in a middle school) We make the meat balls ahead of time and then freeze them. I have YET to have a problem with them staying together, even after freezing them! This is now, and always will be my "go to" meat ball recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Blackfalds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious! I will definitely be making these again. I halved the recipe, using 1 lb ground beef (I didn't have any pork on hand) and got 18 meatballs. I added the garlic to the onions about halfway through the cooking time, and used Italian breadcrumbs. Thank you, CJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I did do a few things slightly differently (omitted onion because I didn't have one, used onion powder, added some extra herbs to the meatballs), but even as is, this is a DYNAMITE recipe. I was really worried about it falling apart, and these meatballs held their shape perfectly. I made sure to get ground beef and ground pork straight from my supermarket's butcher instead of on the shelf to make sure I had decent quality. The mixture smelled wonderful before I made it, smelled wonderful in the oven, and tasted AMAZING. By far the best meatballs I have ever made. They did get a little greasy when baked, so I might put them on a rack next time, and they didn't brown, but that's fine. I put them in my sauce for the last 5 minutes of cooking (and to get them covered nicely with sauce), and they were just to die for. This recipe makes a very large amount of meatballs, so be cautious if you aren't cooking for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Chef John KNOWS how to cook. Everything he's had on this site I've made with excellent reviews from friends and family. THIS is how I want to cook. John, you need a show!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States