Chef John's Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. I had never made meatballs, I just usually did spaghetti sauce on my noodles. So glad I tried this. My husband loves to eat the meatballs all by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Best meatballs I've tasted, let alone cooked! Followed the recipe except out of garlic and used garlic powder. Made half a batch because there's only two of us, and froze half which I used over the next few weeks for meatball sandwiches. Extraordinary with spaghetti -- and likewise with the meatball sandwiches. I can't recommend this recipe enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Loved this!! Just added a little more bread crumbs and as another review said I finished them off in sauce after about 15 minutes in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this recipe today. Firstly, no frying. And that is so important when putting together a meal -- one less, messy step to a perfect meal. The simple combination of ingredients, particularly the emphasis on fresh parsley, brought together a wonderful taste. While the meatballs are smallish, it helps them to not fall apart, but keep their shape very well when served. So overall, I would rate this a perfect meatball preparation -- whether a seasoned cook or a beginner. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Used fresh parsley and basil. Worcestershire sauce instead of anchovy paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These are wonderful. I used a pound of sweet sausage instead of the ground pork and it gave them a nice flavor. I also used a 1/2 cup of dry bread crumbs in addition to the 1/3 added to the milk. I have made these twice now and our family loves them either over pasta or for meatball subs. As to the reviewer who said there was a lot of liquid, she is right. Just dump it into the sauce with the meatballs and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Finally a meatball I can enjoy. Not tuff, no breadcrumb mushiness and the right amount of spiciness. Not over mixing the ingredients worked very well. I did use an ice cream scoop to form the meatballs. Produced around 18. I made Chef Johns spaghetti sauce and put it all together in a baking dish and baked 1 hour at 350 and topped with shredded cheese. First thing a friend said to me was "man those meatballs were awesome"..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I used half venison and half beef, followed everything else. OUTSTANDING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My family went crazy over these meatballs! I was able to make 18 with this recipe-I like a nice size meatball! The only ingredients I changed was the meat. I used 1lb ground beef and 1lb ground Sweet Italian sausage. Will be making these is batches and freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Tastey, great left over on Pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States