Chef John's Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I've made this a couple times with little variations here and there and it has been a hit every time! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanmagorno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Absolutely delicious.. Couldn't have been happier with the way it turned out. I all-way like to made the recipe once as written, the way the chef did it. But I love it wend someone do the recipe with alterations, I too can't leave anything alone! I have to play with my food. You did adjusted it to your personal taste that what I like, to see what others have did to any improvements and/or variations you make to this simple recipe. I use 3 pounds lamb shoulder chops a little extra garlic but otherwise made as-is. I did read one review that gave this recipe a lower rating because it contained alcohol, You can substitute 1-1/2 cups chicken stock. YES I DO SEE this is on the radar too. Going to be tough to top this one though. I did adjusted to my personal taste. Your way is very delicious. The next time I did it and I add it to my recipe box and to My Note: My family loved bouth ways, and I'll be making this a lot more. Both are delicious, it's a matter of what your taste is....I now have two ways to this. YOU HAVE SUCCESS!! with me. Now I can do my happy food dance!! Thank you!!! Happy Cooking to you and y'all! Grpa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Well, as it were Saint Paddy's day today, I thought I'd give this recipe a wee bit of a go. Honestly, I'd rate it 5 stars for the smell it gives off in the house alone. My husband kept saying "Sure smells good," and I think we were all drooling heavily by the time the first 1 1/2 hours was up! I made it exactly as written and had the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread to go with. Unfortunately I added too much water, so it was a bit like a chunky soup, but still incredibly flavourful and the lamb was amazing! My husband said "this is good," three times! Thanks, Chef John! Now I'm going to curl up with a small glass of Irish whiskey and watch my kids clean the kitchen! Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was the first time I made Chef John's Irish Stew. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was really good, but wanted a friend of mine, who is a very good cook to have some and tell me what she thought. She said it was excellent and will be making it herself. I will surely be making this again ! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Been following Chef John/foodwishes(dot)com for YEARS, this stew is a staple in my home, we have it once a week in the cooler months. I'm making it for a date tonight, it's THAT GOOD and impossible to mess up. Another great thing about this recipe is that you can make it early, leave simmering for awhile if you're not sure what time you're going to eat. Perfect the way it is, but here's another version: follow recipe exactly, only without the potatoes at first. Then follow Chef John's mashed potatoes recipe, once both are finished, ladle the stew over the mashed potatoes and sprinkle with a few extra green onions for garnish. Freezer Tips: I make it all the way, put the stew and the mashed potatoes in separate ziplok bags, freeze, then take to a cabin in the mountains to enjoy with a glass of red wine in front of the fire. Perfect, because all you have to do is reheat and enjoy! Highly suggest visiting his website as well-entertaining and informative; inspired my love for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was incredible! Made better by using local Ontario lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this with pork stew meat. (Lamb wasn't available at the time). I made it in a crockpot, cooking it for about 6 hours. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used sweet potatoes instead of Dutch yellow. Best lamb stew EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanisha
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I did not use Celery and chicken broth, I also leave the bone on as I like chewing bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
The entire family loved this stew! First time we have ever eaten lamb, too! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States