Chef John's Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious! I have not found any recipe of chef John's that was not great! Keep posting Chef John, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good, better than what I've eaten in the restaurants. I could not find the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese so I just got the fanciest Parmisan mix I could find in the cheese section. I would agree that it is a little too solid for my chips, so I did like another reviewer and added 1/4 cup of sour cream, which liquified it just enough with no real taste difference. I kept it in the crock pot so it would not solidify, and to keep warm. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe as written (splurged for the cheeses and everything) and I wasn't really impressed. It was a fancy "spread" but not really a "dip". I thought there was too much spinach and artichokes for the amount it made. I would probably double the recipe and keep the amount of spinach and artichokes the same. It was not creamy/liquidy enough for me so you couldn't really dip the tortilla chips in it, which is the way my husband and I like it. The gruyere has a really smoky and distinct taste. It added a lot of flavor, but was just a bit over-powering for me. I was really attracted to the recipe because it doesn't use mayo, which I can't stand. So, overall I'm disappointed. I'll try to add something to make it more dip-like if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemysoldier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe as written and it was a bit too fatty for me. The second time, I replaced the Gruyere and Mozzarella by using 1 cup fat free Chobani plain yogurt. For the cream cheese, I used fat free too. I also excluded the butter. It made it much lighter as only the Parmesan had fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Amazing - best recipe for spinach artichoke dip I've ever had! Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I did love this, but to me it barely made 5 stars because following the recipe exactly leads to a "dip" that is just not creamy enough. I hate all store-bought jarred Alfredo sauces, almost anything involving mayo, and don't like too much of a sour cream flavor. Because this recipe eliminated those, it sounded like the perfect option. However, I cheated and added about 1/4 cup sour cream because it was just too thick. It was absolutely perfect that way (still very thick), but only if you don't plan on using chips to dip (they would break easily). I spooned the dip onto toasted baguette slices and it was awesome. I highly recommend serving it in a crock pot on low or warm heat to keep it continually warm, because as soon as it isn't piping hot, it loses its awesome texture and flare. I served it in a casserole dish, which was nice in order to get a nice brown top in the oven, but next time I'm going to try a crock pot to keep it toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this over Christmas and my family loved it. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Not a favorite. I think it was the cream cheese that made the texture unpleasant. You'd think cream cheese would add to the creaminess, but it almost gave it a gritty texture and I didn't like the cream cheese flavor. I liked the Gruyere but I think it needs other types of cheese instead of the cream cheese. I'm going to try and find an older recipe I liked better. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Man oh Man that gruyere really makes the difference!! Its expensive but for a special occasion I would make that choice because its really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this for a church gathering. Everyone raved about it. It is very good. I also doubled the mozzarella cheese on top and used minced garlic from the jar instead of fresh garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States