Chef John's Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I messed up this recipe up and my guests still loved it. I messed up and used garlic salt instead of fresh garlic - duh - but I was able to fix it by adding some fresh tomato after it came out of the oven. The tomato made the dip just a little lighter and less salty. I'm going to make this again - and will follow the instructions exactly - and I'm sure my guests will still love it. (Umm, I served it with tortilla chips and perhaps that's where I was getting some of the excess salt taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by planetdebz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really great dip. I added a quarter of a cup of sour cream for creaminess and a small can of Ortega fire roasted green chilies (everything here in the SW gets green chili added). The taste and texture was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicci g
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
yum! I made this tonight and it turned out great! I will definitely be recommending it to my friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector Gzz
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did it for christmas eve, it is as easy as shown on video...everybody love it. Chef John....my kitchen sensei...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector Gzz
Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Marvelous flavor and texture. Served it for a reception with pita chips and celery (for us low carb folks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe was awesome, and pretty easy for an inexperienced cook! I did what the other reviews said - i could not find the cheeses in the grocery store so I just used Swiss (instead of Gruyere), parmesan, and mozzarella as well as I added 1/2 a cup of sour cream and the texture was great, perfect for dipping. I also skipped out on the nutmeg as I was not sure if I would want the flavour and it ended up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this a few times and it is always a huge hit!!! This is a winner and it is gone fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious! I have not found any recipe of chef John's that was not great! Keep posting Chef John, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good, better than what I've eaten in the restaurants. I could not find the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese so I just got the fanciest Parmisan mix I could find in the cheese section. I would agree that it is a little too solid for my chips, so I did like another reviewer and added 1/4 cup of sour cream, which liquified it just enough with no real taste difference. I kept it in the crock pot so it would not solidify, and to keep warm. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe as written (splurged for the cheeses and everything) and I wasn't really impressed. It was a fancy "spread" but not really a "dip". I thought there was too much spinach and artichokes for the amount it made. I would probably double the recipe and keep the amount of spinach and artichokes the same. It was not creamy/liquidy enough for me so you couldn't really dip the tortilla chips in it, which is the way my husband and I like it. The gruyere has a really smoky and distinct taste. It added a lot of flavor, but was just a bit over-powering for me. I was really attracted to the recipe because it doesn't use mayo, which I can't stand. So, overall I'm disappointed. I'll try to add something to make it more dip-like if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemysoldier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States