Chef John's Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I did not measure the hot sauce in this dish--I just added a couple good shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. I did not add the nutmeg (my husband does not care for it) and I doubled the mozzerella cheese on the top. I did take Chef John's suggestion and bake this in a bigger dish--I spread it in a 8x8 glass square baking dish. I served this with crusty garlic bread and tortilla chips for the boys and celery/carrot "chips" for me. This dip literally lasted less than 20 minutes. Everyone loved it, especially my husband who swore up and down he dosen't like spinach-artichoke dip. This is some good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe as written and it was a bit too fatty for me. The second time, I replaced the Gruyere and Mozzarella by using 1 cup fat free Chobani plain yogurt. For the cream cheese, I used fat free too. I also excluded the butter. It made it much lighter as only the Parmesan had fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I did love this, but to me it barely made 5 stars because following the recipe exactly leads to a "dip" that is just not creamy enough. I hate all store-bought jarred Alfredo sauces, almost anything involving mayo, and don't like too much of a sour cream flavor. Because this recipe eliminated those, it sounded like the perfect option. However, I cheated and added about 1/4 cup sour cream because it was just too thick. It was absolutely perfect that way (still very thick), but only if you don't plan on using chips to dip (they would break easily). I spooned the dip onto toasted baguette slices and it was awesome. I highly recommend serving it in a crock pot on low or warm heat to keep it continually warm, because as soon as it isn't piping hot, it loses its awesome texture and flare. I served it in a casserole dish, which was nice in order to get a nice brown top in the oven, but next time I'm going to try a crock pot to keep it toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
4.5 stars. I wish it was creamier but it was because of my cheese selection. I used leftover blue and havarti dill instead of Gruyere. Even still, this is my new artichoke dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have become a Chef John fan! I don't like spinach-artichoke dip, but I made this for a friend's party and even I liked it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the dish was licked-clean by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent! I used swiss instead of gruyere, and a 10 oz bag of fresh spinach, but I kept the rest of the ingredients the same, even the pinch of nutmeg. Used the microwave, melted the butter and onion and garlic for 2 min in a 2 qt casserole dish, threw in torn fresh spinach until wilted. Mixed in rest of the ingredients and microwaved 3 min more. Stirred and microwaved 4-5 min more until all melted together. I have a high powered microwave so it didnt take long. It came out excellent and was melted and gooey. Taste was mmmmwwwwaaa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe was awesome, and pretty easy for an inexperienced cook! I did what the other reviews said - i could not find the cheeses in the grocery store so I just used Swiss (instead of Gruyere), parmesan, and mozzarella as well as I added 1/2 a cup of sour cream and the texture was great, perfect for dipping. I also skipped out on the nutmeg as I was not sure if I would want the flavour and it ended up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe as written (splurged for the cheeses and everything) and I wasn't really impressed. It was a fancy "spread" but not really a "dip". I thought there was too much spinach and artichokes for the amount it made. I would probably double the recipe and keep the amount of spinach and artichokes the same. It was not creamy/liquidy enough for me so you couldn't really dip the tortilla chips in it, which is the way my husband and I like it. The gruyere has a really smoky and distinct taste. It added a lot of flavor, but was just a bit over-powering for me. I was really attracted to the recipe because it doesn't use mayo, which I can't stand. So, overall I'm disappointed. I'll try to add something to make it more dip-like if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemysoldier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Marvelous flavor and texture. Served it for a reception with pita chips and celery (for us low carb folks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious! I have not found any recipe of chef John's that was not great! Keep posting Chef John, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States