Chef John's Homemade Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Makes a rich stock with complex flavor instead of just plain chicken and salt. The addition of ketchup is magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Kamusikiri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
All I could taste was onion. Added some salt which just made the onion more pronounced. Added some chicken base which didn't do much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was the best chicken broth! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a whole cut up chicken (what I had on hand). Due to a family member having strict dietary restrictions (no gluten, wheat, soy, eggs, or sugar) I had to cook everything from scratch and this was perfect for use when menu items called for water or broth. After I let it cool, I put it in a one gallon jug and froze it until I was ready to use it. What I didn't use for Thanksgiving I threw in a soup pot along with the turkey carcass and made turkey soup. I am making another batch now however this time instead of using thyme, I am going to try 1T. basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great way to make stock, I used the Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Nothing beats a homemade stock. If you are using this for soup, add 1-2 bone in breasts for meat. Follow the rest the same. When the stock is finished chunk up the breast meat, add cooked diced celery and carrot, and small pasta like acini di pepi or thin egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
this came out very nice.. used a whole chicken carcass and used 1/4 t of dried thyme in place of the fresh.. used 6 cups of water and cooked in the crock pot.. the written recipe does not mention the peppercorns that the video shows.. glad i watched and caught it.. ty for a simple effective recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I give the recipe five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Being a cook who already makes my own stocks, I decided to follow Chef John's recipe to the letter for comparison. His recipe produced a great stock with a fine depth of flavor. I live in an area with many butcher shops, not just supermarkets with pre-packaged meats, so obtaining backs and necks is easy and very inexpensive. The 5th star would have been given if Chef John had done as I do and added 4 chicken feet to the mix for more collagen and nutrition. Thanks John, I always read your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i always want to do what i can to save money and with raising my own chickens for meat and eggs...this is a great way to save even more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States