Chef John's Homemade Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
this came out very nice.. used a whole chicken carcass and used 1/4 t of dried thyme in place of the fresh.. used 6 cups of water and cooked in the crock pot.. the written recipe does not mention the peppercorns that the video shows.. glad i watched and caught it.. ty for a simple effective recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I give the recipe five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Being a cook who already makes my own stocks, I decided to follow Chef John's recipe to the letter for comparison. His recipe produced a great stock with a fine depth of flavor. I live in an area with many butcher shops, not just supermarkets with pre-packaged meats, so obtaining backs and necks is easy and very inexpensive. The 5th star would have been given if Chef John had done as I do and added 4 chicken feet to the mix for more collagen and nutrition. Thanks John, I always read your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i always want to do what i can to save money and with raising my own chickens for meat and eggs...this is a great way to save even more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I could not find a package of chicken necks and backs, I did have a 3-ish pound package of chicken parts that I used instead. I did add a good amount of dried parsley and fresh ground pepper. This was exactly what I needed--it was simple to execute and it cost a fraction of what one quart cost me of the name brand chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Easy and the smell was amazing as it cooked! I used a full chicken carcass that I froze to be used for stock. The carcass was from Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken from this site. I also added some fresh cracked pepper. After simmering all day and like I said the smell was intoxicating....it lended a very flavorful rich stock that was deep with color. I tasted it and it was delicious. It is now in the freezer for future use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
EXCELLENT! One of the things that I did different: After I removed all of the skin and the meat after the roasting time of the chicken - I roasted the bones and the veggies from the pot (I added more onions, carrot and celery) on an oiled baking sheet and baked them at 400°F for ~ 30 minutes so to extract a richer flavor from the bones and the veggies. I followed the remainder of the recipe except I substituted a large dried bay leaf in place of the thyme, added some fresh celery leafs from a celery bunch and black peppercorns after all of the foam and fat had been skimmed off. I never omit bay leafs, celery leafs or peppercorns when I make a broth/stock. I was leery of using ketchup in a broth but I used the Hunts® brand of ketchup because it doesn’t have any high fructose corn syrup in it. Note: I wash off the dirt but I never pare carrots nor peel the outside skin off of onions for making broth/stock because I strive for all of the natural flavor and color that I can get into a broth/stock. After all, the broth is strained well and the bones seasonings and veggies are discarded at the end. The end result was perfect for my tastes and the ketchup added a surprisingly nice touch of flavor to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I like this Stock recipe a lot - I do however like to roast the chicken pieces before simmering. The long slow simmer is essential to a really good Stock. This can be done in the crock pot or stove top. This makes canned stock pale in comparision. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States