Chef John's Homemade Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was the best chicken broth! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a whole cut up chicken (what I had on hand). Due to a family member having strict dietary restrictions (no gluten, wheat, soy, eggs, or sugar) I had to cook everything from scratch and this was perfect for use when menu items called for water or broth. After I let it cool, I put it in a one gallon jug and froze it until I was ready to use it. What I didn't use for Thanksgiving I threw in a soup pot along with the turkey carcass and made turkey soup. I am making another batch now however this time instead of using thyme, I am going to try 1T. basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great way to make stock, I used the Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Nothing beats a homemade stock. If you are using this for soup, add 1-2 bone in breasts for meat. Follow the rest the same. When the stock is finished chunk up the breast meat, add cooked diced celery and carrot, and small pasta like acini di pepi or thin egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
this came out very nice.. used a whole chicken carcass and used 1/4 t of dried thyme in place of the fresh.. used 6 cups of water and cooked in the crock pot.. the written recipe does not mention the peppercorns that the video shows.. glad i watched and caught it.. ty for a simple effective recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I give the recipe five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Being a cook who already makes my own stocks, I decided to follow Chef John's recipe to the letter for comparison. His recipe produced a great stock with a fine depth of flavor. I live in an area with many butcher shops, not just supermarkets with pre-packaged meats, so obtaining backs and necks is easy and very inexpensive. The 5th star would have been given if Chef John had done as I do and added 4 chicken feet to the mix for more collagen and nutrition. Thanks John, I always read your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i always want to do what i can to save money and with raising my own chickens for meat and eggs...this is a great way to save even more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I could not find a package of chicken necks and backs, I did have a 3-ish pound package of chicken parts that I used instead. I did add a good amount of dried parsley and fresh ground pepper. This was exactly what I needed--it was simple to execute and it cost a fraction of what one quart cost me of the name brand chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Easy and the smell was amazing as it cooked! I used a full chicken carcass that I froze to be used for stock. The carcass was from Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken from this site. I also added some fresh cracked pepper. After simmering all day and like I said the smell was intoxicating....it lended a very flavorful rich stock that was deep with color. I tasted it and it was delicious. It is now in the freezer for future use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States