Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I love how simple this recipe is. This is just plain comfort food. It all comes together so quickly too. I weighed the 4 oz of egg noodles and measured them - it was about 2 cups in my large glass pyrex measuring cup. Remember your soup will only be as good as your broth / stock. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent! I used Chef John's roasted chicken stock recipe and the schmalz (chicken fat) from the roasted chicken for making this soup. Next time I might try adding some frozen peas at the same time that the chicken is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Awesome!!! We love this soup, all I had was 2 quarts of regular chicken broth, but I went back to the store and bought one more quart of chicken stock because we like the extra liquid in our soup, the stock makes the difference. Perfect for a day you don't want to do alot of cooking. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I always save my rotisserie ckn carcasses after I trim off the leftover meat @ freeze that in a separate pkg with the carcass. Broth is so much better when made with rotesserie ckn. Pretty much followed the recipe & added trimmings at the end. Great way to use up rotisserie ckn & get a bigger bang for your buck. Your only expense is the price of the veggies & if you're like me you have them in the fridge anyways. A pot of soup for no extra cost! If I'm not going to serve right away I cook the noodles separate. If they're left in overnite they tend to swell & absorb the broth. So I just toss them in when I'm reheating the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love it when cooks change the recipe so much and then complain/say it is great - not! That being said, this was superb totally as is. I made it for my kids and they slurped it up and were sad when it was gone. A total comfort food. I have never made broth from scratch, usually use bouillon to enhance my stock, but this was the first time I didn't need to and I felt like a real chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowdedbath

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My hubby is under the weather this weekend so i made this soup for him. I followed the receipe as posted but added some LOVE and it was PERFECT!!!!! I have never been a fan of chicken noodle soup because of the bland taste, but this one is hands down the best i have ever had. It was also easy to make which is always good during this busy time of year. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing,, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Changed a couple of things. Poached the chicken breasts with a little olive oil, celery and onion with chicken granules and four cups of water. Brought it to a boil and then turned off the stove; one hour later perfectly poached chicken. Shredded the chicken and sieved the ingredients from the broth. Used the chicken and the broth with some homemade amish egg noodles; plus all other ingredients. Did not have chicken fat so I used canola oil instead. This was absolutely delicious. I think my method is a lot easier with less work and the taste plus presentation is wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved it however I added 1/4 teaspoon of basil, and 1/4 teaspoon of oregano to add a bit more flavor. :) Bon apatite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very nice soup! I made the Roasted Chicken Broth, omitting the tomato ketchup, and followed this recipe with 2 exceptions. I used leeks instead of onions, and I added 1/2 c. of dry white wine to the broth before adding the noodles and the chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States