Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I love how simple this recipe is. This is just plain comfort food. It all comes together so quickly too. I weighed the 4 oz of egg noodles and measured them - it was about 2 cups in my large glass pyrex measuring cup. Remember your soup will only be as good as your broth / stock. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent! I used Chef John's roasted chicken stock recipe and the schmalz (chicken fat) from the roasted chicken for making this soup. Next time I might try adding some frozen peas at the same time that the chicken is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Awesome!!! We love this soup, all I had was 2 quarts of regular chicken broth, but I went back to the store and bought one more quart of chicken stock because we like the extra liquid in our soup, the stock makes the difference. Perfect for a day you don't want to do alot of cooking. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved it however I added 1/4 teaspoon of basil, and 1/4 teaspoon of oregano to add a bit more flavor. :) Bon apatite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing,, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was the best chicken noodle soup I have ever made. It was were making the roasted chicken broth. Full of flavor. I did use whole whaet noodles so they did take a little longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very nice soup! I made the Roasted Chicken Broth, omitting the tomato ketchup, and followed this recipe with 2 exceptions. I used leeks instead of onions, and I added 1/2 c. of dry white wine to the broth before adding the noodles and the chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very tasty, not much of a thyme lover, so i substituted a little bit of poultry seasoning in its place. I also used a small whole chicken to make the broth and used the meat to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Changed a couple of things. Poached the chicken breasts with a little olive oil, celery and onion with chicken granules and four cups of water. Brought it to a boil and then turned off the stove; one hour later perfectly poached chicken. Shredded the chicken and sieved the ingredients from the broth. Used the chicken and the broth with some homemade amish egg noodles; plus all other ingredients. Did not have chicken fat so I used canola oil instead. This was absolutely delicious. I think my method is a lot easier with less work and the taste plus presentation is wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States