Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent soup; I've never tried roasting a chicken to get a richer broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this last week and was delicious! I made again yesterday and added fresh garlic (therapeutic for a cough/cold I have had) Also added a bay leaf. Next time will try with homemade noodles....when I feel better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is chicken soup as it should be - absolutely excellent. My family has been making this since I was a little girl- probably longer than that (without cayenne - we use Hungarian Paprika) Sometimes we put potato instead of noodles - depending on whether it is for dinner as a starter or supper with a baguette. Thanks for being such a`user friendly`chef, Chef John. Love your methods and your attitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very close to my Ma's. Only difference is she used dill instead of thyme and made stock out of chicken wings(feeding 7 so cheap at the time) and took the meat off those. Some of us liked it without meat/some with so it worked in our house. The chicken wings have more flavor and add a bit of sweetness. She added more carrots since most of us liked it meatless. Tip: do not use baby carrots as they don't add the full flavor the big ones do. Chef John I have made many of your recipes and have loved them all. It may be a simple soup but still my favorite chicken soup to this day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Dicesare
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I loved it but added kale and mushrooms for the health benefits and the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Dicesare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
OMGosh. I am on my third pot. My friends have been sick and I just whip up a pot of this soup. What a great gift.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is the chicken soup recipe I have been looking for. I wanted to make a homemade soup because I felt I was coming down with a bug. I made this one basically as it is laid out though I added more salt, pepper and cayenne pepper for flavor as well as more thyme and a sprig of rosemary. It is simple but the cayenne pepper gives it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Excellent! And yes, I used Chef John's roasted chicken broth. Nothing tastes better in the cold winter months or when you're feeling under the weather. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nboothm_85
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I follow this recipe to the T and this recipe was delicious. The only thing I did not add was the chili powder, in my family we don't like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Chef John's creations are always awesome, kudos chef. Those who complain about the recipe, keep in mind, in your own home YOU'RE THE COOK, you can change the ingredients, technique, even add whatever you like in your soup. Most Chefs see recipes as basic outlines, you learn techniques and your own tastes by trying things out. Experiment :) This recipe is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTexasGirl:)

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States