Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great recipe! I added bay leaves too. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Yum! This recipe was so easy and tasty. I didn't have any thyme so I used sage instead and threw in some garlic salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckieboo
Home Town: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My hubby is under the weather this weekend so i made this soup for him. I followed the receipe as posted but added some LOVE and it was PERFECT!!!!! I have never been a fan of chicken noodle soup because of the bland taste, but this one is hands down the best i have ever had. It was also easy to make which is always good during this busy time of year. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I always save my rotisserie ckn carcasses after I trim off the leftover meat @ freeze that in a separate pkg with the carcass. Broth is so much better when made with rotesserie ckn. Pretty much followed the recipe & added trimmings at the end. Great way to use up rotisserie ckn & get a bigger bang for your buck. Your only expense is the price of the veggies & if you're like me you have them in the fridge anyways. A pot of soup for no extra cost! If I'm not going to serve right away I cook the noodles separate. If they're left in overnite they tend to swell & absorb the broth. So I just toss them in when I'm reheating the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight. Got "The Best Chicken Soup" response from my husband. I like the fact that it is quick and easy. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I felt this recipe was a good baseline and made several changes. I used homemade chicken stock, but it wasn't roasted. I also added parsnips and various spices. I liked another recipe on this site for white wine chicken soup, so I took some cues from it and added white wine. Soooooo goooood! It was thick, almost like a stew instead of soup. So my advice is to use this as a baseline recipe and get creative to satisfy your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Used Rachel Rays Chicken stock and soup greens. It was so flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Definitely make this soup using Chef Johns homemade stock recipe and you will not be disappointed in the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love it when cooks change the recipe so much and then complain/say it is great - not! That being said, this was superb totally as is. I made it for my kids and they slurped it up and were sad when it was gone. A total comfort food. I have never made broth from scratch, usually use bouillon to enhance my stock, but this was the first time I didn't need to and I felt like a real chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowdedbath

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Changed a couple of things. Poached the chicken breasts with a little olive oil, celery and onion with chicken granules and four cups of water. Brought it to a boil and then turned off the stove; one hour later perfectly poached chicken. Shredded the chicken and sieved the ingredients from the broth. Used the chicken and the broth with some homemade amish egg noodles; plus all other ingredients. Did not have chicken fat so I used canola oil instead. This was absolutely delicious. I think my method is a lot easier with less work and the taste plus presentation is wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States