Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I glanced at this recipe & since I actually had most of the ingredients I figured why not. I'd grilled chicken last nite w/bell peppers, garlic, onions & tomatoes, so this was my variation plus I used plain chicken broth. My husband loved it & had two large bowls. I will try this again once I have the RCB as listed in the recipe. -VJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Wow! I thought I already made an awesome chicken soup until I tried Chef Johns recipe. I followed his instructions pretty much except I didn't have thyme. I had rosemary, so I used this while simmering. Yummy recipe. Follow his advise. Good things take effort & this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent soup; I've never tried roasting a chicken to get a richer broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this last week and was delicious! I made again yesterday and added fresh garlic (therapeutic for a cough/cold I have had) Also added a bay leaf. Next time will try with homemade noodles....when I feel better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is chicken soup as it should be - absolutely excellent. My family has been making this since I was a little girl- probably longer than that (without cayenne - we use Hungarian Paprika) Sometimes we put potato instead of noodles - depending on whether it is for dinner as a starter or supper with a baguette. Thanks for being such a`user friendly`chef, Chef John. Love your methods and your attitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very close to my Ma's. Only difference is she used dill instead of thyme and made stock out of chicken wings(feeding 7 so cheap at the time) and took the meat off those. Some of us liked it without meat/some with so it worked in our house. The chicken wings have more flavor and add a bit of sweetness. She added more carrots since most of us liked it meatless. Tip: do not use baby carrots as they don't add the full flavor the big ones do. Chef John I have made many of your recipes and have loved them all. It may be a simple soup but still my favorite chicken soup to this day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Dicesare
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I loved it but added kale and mushrooms for the health benefits and the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Dicesare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
OMGosh. I am on my third pot. My friends have been sick and I just whip up a pot of this soup. What a great gift.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is the chicken soup recipe I have been looking for. I wanted to make a homemade soup because I felt I was coming down with a bug. I made this one basically as it is laid out though I added more salt, pepper and cayenne pepper for flavor as well as more thyme and a sprig of rosemary. It is simple but the cayenne pepper gives it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Excellent! And yes, I used Chef John's roasted chicken broth. Nothing tastes better in the cold winter months or when you're feeling under the weather. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States