Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Simple and delicious. I can't use egg noodles so I broke linguine noodles into about 2-inch pieces and it worked great for us. I used a little dried thyme since I didn't have fresh. Nothing spectacular here, just good old chicken noodle soup.edit: using the linguine noodles may be why but when using the full amount, which I don't usually do, the leftovers were nearly without broth as they had soaked it all up. The texture still seemed fine but I had to add broth to the leftovers and it ended up mostly noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This soup was delicious. Rich broth. However, it was a bit time consuming, making the roasted chicken broth, then making the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I was surprised how rich tasting this soup came out. It's delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a roasted lemon pepper chicken from Albertson's, added 2 TB olive oil to the butter, used canned chicken broth, Italian seasoning and Oregano (didn't have thyme). I needed to make it in a hurry to heal my sick daughter's cold. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is amazing, but what do you expect from Chef John. I am a frequent visitor of his blog and have loved almost every recipe. Even my husband, Mr. I-hate-all-soup, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I have been making chicken noodle soup for 50 years and this is the BEST!!! I used the chicken carcass from a Costo rotisserie chicken. Reserved the breast meat and used the rest to make the stock, per your recipe. Next day I made the soup following the recipe exactly. It was so easy and simply delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
We (my family and I) were really NOT impressed. I followed the recipe exactly but it wasn't really impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Our all time favorite soup-with the bonus of special healing powers and the cure for the common cold. If you make Chef Johns homemade chicken stock for use with this soup you will attain a whole new level-a guaranteed out of the park home-run every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a very good recipe! I used regular chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made this last night! I used a rotisserie chicken because I was in a hurry. I also added more veggies then called for! This recipe was quick, easy, and very good! My fiance loved it!! I also added a little basil and garlic powder, and used dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
delicious recipe but time consuming. Last time I poached chicken breast pieces and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States