Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have smoked ham, only packaged diced ham so I used that and I thought it worked out just fine. I kept everything else the same - the recipe is a winner as is! Next time, however, I think I will increase the flour to 1/3 cup so it is a little thicker. This soup made a wonderful lunch on a cool Sunday afternoon - I just wish I would've doubled it so there would be more leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. It was a "big hit" with everyone. Easy to prepare, a great taste and plenty for 4. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I whipped this together for a late dinner, used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream because that's all I had. I also added torn slices of American Cheese (8 slices altogether) and my family said it was the best soup they've ever had. It would have been just as great of a recipe even without the ham. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Easy to make. 8/20/2014. I used 2 c. whole milk and 4 c. broth instead of the cream and water in the liquid ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I did the recipe as written. The only thing I did different was I purée the soup without the ham. After everything purée, I put the ham inside. Serve it with bacon and cheese. Yum.... Definitely a keeper. Thank you for the sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Another Chef John home run! This soup was easy to put together and was a great way to use up some ham leftovers. I made the recipe exactly as written except I didn't have 3 cloves of garlic, so I used powder. I also used low sodium broth and skipped the cream at the end to save some fat grams, not sure it would have made things much better. Next time, I may add a cup or two of shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We love this recipe and have been making it for years. The only change I make, to cut down on the fat, is to peel and cook an extra potato on the side and mash it up and add to the soup in place of the cream at the end to thicken and add body. I've also used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. I also cut back on the salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I am always excited to make this soup when I have leftover ham in the fridge! I absolutely love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Yum!! Even my picky husband loved it. He hates it when I try new recipes because usually they don't turn out well. But we both LOVED this soup. I made it exactly as written. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever had, full stop. Don't change a thing about the recipe, it's amazing as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States