Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Brilliant as a straight forward soup. Easily modified but..... Unless you like to freeze the soup dont double it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
turned out great I made it more. chunky style with more ham everyone loved it! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this for dinner last night. My husband had 3 bowls. He said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Beaty
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Delicious! I did changes some ingredients, I use coconut milk instead of regular milk, added parsley, baby kale to put more veggies. You can actually add anything to it and still come out a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. Love Chef John's recipes! Just as I was about to serve this soup I realized I never added the water, but I think that worked out for the best. I don't understand why this soup would need all that extra water. The broth was plenty of liquid, and with mashing the soup and adding the cream, it was wonderfully thick and creamy. Definitely a rich, hearty soup. Great with rolls and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This soup is very easy and delicious for leftover ham. The only thing I did was add a little wondra flour at the end because I like a thicker soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is such a great recipe. It's easy, it's fun, and it tastes DELICIOUS! I'm a big soup guy and I even eat soup in the middle of August in Texas. I think the key is to get more hammy, and or smoky flavor is to get a hold of some real or smoked ham steaks. Using pre-packaged diced ham is nice and easy, but it really just adds little chewy cubes of meat. When you get a nice piece of ham, and cube it up it adds just a touch of hammyness/smokiness that really makes this dish. Even if you can't get a nice cut of ham, don't let that keep you from making this recipe! Do it even with the packaged ham it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline Males
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is the best potato ham soup ever. The sprinkle of cayenne pepper really sets it off. I add that to my individual portion. I also made corn muffins with it. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Males

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I did not use Cayenne pepper as my husband can't take the 'heat'. I don't think that amount he will taste it, but you know you have to please the hubby! My recipe is excellent so I am sure this one is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this today in the midst of a snow storm and it hit the spot on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States