Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I whipped this together for a late dinner, used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream because that's all I had. I also added torn slices of American Cheese (8 slices altogether) and my family said it was the best soup they've ever had. It would have been just as great of a recipe even without the ham. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Easy to make. 8/20/2014. I used 2 c. whole milk and 4 c. broth instead of the cream and water in the liquid ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I did the recipe as written. The only thing I did different was I purée the soup without the ham. After everything purée, I put the ham inside. Serve it with bacon and cheese. Yum.... Definitely a keeper. Thank you for the sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Another Chef John home run! This soup was easy to put together and was a great way to use up some ham leftovers. I made the recipe exactly as written except I didn't have 3 cloves of garlic, so I used powder. I also used low sodium broth and skipped the cream at the end to save some fat grams, not sure it would have made things much better. Next time, I may add a cup or two of shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We love this recipe and have been making it for years. The only change I make, to cut down on the fat, is to peel and cook an extra potato on the side and mash it up and add to the soup in place of the cream at the end to thicken and add body. I've also used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. I also cut back on the salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I am always excited to make this soup when I have leftover ham in the fridge! I absolutely love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Yum!! Even my picky husband loved it. He hates it when I try new recipes because usually they don't turn out well. But we both LOVED this soup. I made it exactly as written. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever had, full stop. Don't change a thing about the recipe, it's amazing as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Totally excellent soup! I followed the recipe except added more celery and didn't add the cream (and didn't miss it). This is a keeper -- thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Really tasty! It's simple to make, but has excellent flavor. I figured I'd need to add more spices, but found I like it just as written. I used low sodium broth, and the ham added just what was needed. I made a honey corn bread to eat with it - the soup is too filling for a side sandwich IMO...thanks again, CJ! I love your recipes & videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States