Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
just the "RIGHT AMOUNT" of garlic and spices. Perfect. ! ! Cooking it with chicken broth and the cream made it so tasty. Just for the last few minutes, I added whipping cream just until warm, then 1/4 c.of sour cream. Such a great taste. I have made it both ways. You just can't go wrong. We have this at least 2 to 3 times a month. I have also added chopped bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yummy. BTW Chef John- how do you get an Art Major off your doorstep? Offer to pay for a Pizarro! Am a mother of an SF sous chef not a smarty pants. When ever she is here (not very often as I an sure you know) and I yell for help she just walks in and says, Oh mom just do this, " turns and walks out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent taste! Followed exact recipe which was pretty easy but gave a little different taste than your usual potato soup. The family enjoyed just as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup, perfect consistency. Not too heavy, not too light. Great flavor and easy to follow directions. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have been making this for several months now and just realized that I have yet to review this. Thank you Chef John. This is a family favorite and I follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This one is very good. Also, that bit of information from JOHN, How to get rid of an art major. Thanks. Loved it. I've been chuckling about that for the last 15 minutes, and probably will for the next several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have smoked ham, only packaged diced ham so I used that and I thought it worked out just fine. I kept everything else the same - the recipe is a winner as is! Next time, however, I think I will increase the flour to 1/3 cup so it is a little thicker. This soup made a wonderful lunch on a cool Sunday afternoon - I just wish I would've doubled it so there would be more leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. It was a "big hit" with everyone. Easy to prepare, a great taste and plenty for 4. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States