Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
yum yum yum! made almost exactly to the recipe and was very good. The only change I made was to saute the vegies in water instead of butter in order to reduce the fat and calories. I also used evaporated fat free milk instead of heavy cream. def a keeper, thanks for sharking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
VERY good! I doubled the recipe because it said it made four servings. SERIOUSLY? How big are those servings? I have SO much soup left over. It's very rich also so I recommend just a light salad and maybe rolls with this meal! I did add some instant potatoes to thicken but otherwise I stuck to the recipe and my family loved it! The cayenne definitely added a kick. I added about 1/2 tsp. since it didn't say how much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DanPhoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this with very few modifications and it turned out superb. I used my own homemade chicken stock and ham stock which I had leftover in the freezer. I used a little less flour just because 1/4 looked like too much. I didn't have any heavy cream but half and half seemed to work just fine. I didn't add any cayenne pepper because my toddlers aren't big on spicy just yet. I did a few drops of Franks RedHot (a cayenne pepper sauce) to my bowl however. I'll be making this comfort food regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now, and whereas I may add some extra seasonings and/or veggies, the basic recipe is fabulous! I usually have to make double if I want any for lunch the next day! Oh, and use the amount of flour called for if you're looking for something thicker than broth-based soup soup, it's a perfect ratio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this with packaged diced ham and it was delicious! This soup freezes very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was soooo good! I had leftover Easter ham that I wanted to start to use up, and im so glad I found this recipe. One change I made based on what I had on hand was that I used 2 cans of potatoes. I also used a can of corn instead of carrots, based on preference. I will be making this again! I dont always have ham on hand, so next time I make this, I will be trying it with kielbasa. Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I showed my husband the video because it looked so yummy. He made it that day and it was such a delicious comfort food. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Simply perfect for those cold days (I'm in South Africa, it's winter here). Doubled the recipe, but, thanks to everyone going for second helpings the pot was empty by the end of the day! Keeper, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This soup was so delicious!! My teenage boys fought over the last bowl. I used a whole ham steak from the grocery store and the extra ham was great and made it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is by far the best soup I've ever made! It reminds me of my mother's potato soup, but much more flavor (sorry mom)! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States