Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I showed my husband the video because it looked so yummy. He made it that day and it was such a delicious comfort food. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DanPhoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this with very few modifications and it turned out superb. I used my own homemade chicken stock and ham stock which I had leftover in the freezer. I used a little less flour just because 1/4 looked like too much. I didn't have any heavy cream but half and half seemed to work just fine. I didn't add any cayenne pepper because my toddlers aren't big on spicy just yet. I did a few drops of Franks RedHot (a cayenne pepper sauce) to my bowl however. I'll be making this comfort food regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Really a very good soup & another way to use up leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was delicious...I pretty much followed the recipe, but used red and yellow pepper because I did not have carrots. I also used half and half because I did not have heavy cream and it was fantastic. I also added asparagus...Yumm! This would be great after Easter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
love it,more stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noemi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is still in the pot finishing up...excellent soup. I had to leave out the onion due to food allergies, added some crushed dehydrated green scallions during the initial cooking process. Even with that change its a great soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made it tonight while hubby was at work. He loved it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
yum yum yum! made almost exactly to the recipe and was very good. The only change I made was to saute the vegies in water instead of butter in order to reduce the fat and calories. I also used evaporated fat free milk instead of heavy cream. def a keeper, thanks for sharking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Chef John scores with another 5 gold star recipe with this one. I made it according to the recipe, including the cayenne pepper. The whole family enjoyed it. Tip: I use sea salt in almost all of my recipes for more flavor. I live at 6500 ft elevation and I had to simmer the potatoes for 25 minutes but that's what I'm used to and it isn't a big deal. In the video, Chef John didn't cut off the fat rind from the ham whereas I always have. I don't know why I do that when I make baked beans with raw bacon. Chef John, thanks again for this recipe. I enjoy watching your cooking videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This soup was so delicious!! My teenage boys fought over the last bowl. I used a whole ham steak from the grocery store and the extra ham was great and made it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States