Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this using leftover Easter ham, and would warn folks to be careful not to use the parts heavily glazed. It's like adding a few tablespoons of sugar to the soup. This is a good recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I rarely review BUT this soup is excellent and needs to be shared as the go to recipe for Potato/Ham soup. It was tasty the first night but just OUTSTANDING the next day. It is perfect for post holiday ham and I followed the recipe fairly close and you can just tweek to your family's likes. Can't go wrong, easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I had left over ham from Easter dinner that I had cooked in a recipe from this site which included brown sugar. As i was making the soup and test tasting it I found the sweetness of the brown sugr just a tad overpowering so I added a tsp of dill weed (a family favorite) and a bay leaf. It helped decrease the taste of the brow sugar and while the soup was simmering at the end I added a about a tsp of sherry wine vinegar to top things of. My DH who rarely says much about his meals told it was one of the best soups I had ever made. I am going to try this again the way it is intended the next time with the smoked ham and see what he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Felton, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
this was to die for good! my husband loved it and even gave some out to his work crew! 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Delicious -- where have you been hiding Chef John? Where are your other recipes? I was at the butcher and he had some ham ends, I had everything else on hand. In my husband's words, "this is really good." Simple and easy; plus, Chef John's voice is so soothing as he talks about putting the dish together. I even made one mistake and it still came out great. Thank you, please post other recipes and make them easier to find on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I thought this was very good. Aside from my scalloped potatoes with ham, I was trying to think of another way to use up my ham and this was perfect. I also added corn the next day. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
WIth our leftover Easter ham, I tried this recipe. My husband and children loved it! I probably put more celery and onion than listed, but otherwise stuck with the recipe. My family isn't big on soups, but they asked for seconds and to have this soup again. Simple, easy, and filling. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Very nice light creamy soup! Has a nice zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was really hearty soup. I think it would really feed 8 people with NO problem. Easy and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States