Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
It's a good basic recipe. I tripled the carrots and celery. And I think the cayenne is definitely needed for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Add more carrots, celery Needs more thickening, don't skimp on potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Soup HEAVEN!! I added some chopped up broccoli and about a half -3/4 cup cheddar cheese. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was good. I cut down on the water and added more vegetables than in the recipe. I also added green onions along with the chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This soup is so good, made just as Chef John did, except I added more celery and carrots. Was so easy to make and it makes a large pot of soup. I will freeze the left overs, because its just me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made it for my family and everyone loved it! It was a huge hit, even more when you know that some don't even like garlic, onion and celery! I now make it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Like some of others I doubled the recipe...holy cow that's a lot of soup. Very good soup...but a lot of it! Nicely done, Chef John. Extra pepper and cayenne for us. And, don't be tempted to put the potatoes in ealier than recommended. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I mostly did this recipe as written but omitted the water and added ham with the potatoes in step 3. Even so...after mashing a few times...still fairly thin soup. So, I quickly cooked 3 more smallish peeled Idaho potatoes (cubed small) and added those in. Much better! I like more potatoes and less liquid. I did add a few more herbs/spices I wanted and did use your normal baking type potatoes. Personally, I don't feel the water is necessary and make a couple more potatoes then called for. I didn't use heavy cream either as I don't buy that - used 2% milk and a large dollop of sour cream. Good base but for me, it needed to be less thin and more chunks of potato. Thanks CJ for the good start! I forgot, I did add around 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and really liked that addition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Highly yummy! Good mix of flavors in each spoonful ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Add this one to your soup repertoire because it’s super delicious, easy to make, and so comforting on a cool evening. Oh, and only one stockpot to clean. Made exactly as written other than adding a ham hock (discarded after cooking) and replacing salt & pepper with 1/4 teaspoon Sazón seasoning. Added the optional cayenne pepper but omitted the optional chives for garnish. The flavors are so good that this could be converted to a great ham & bean soup by subbing white beans for the potatoes. Superb recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States