Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this soup today but doubled everything, I also added a 1/2 tsp. of dried mustard and used the cayenne pepper. Before serving I added shredded cheese and scallions on top of each bowl. It was absolutely delicious. I was going to put bacon bits on top as well but realized I didn't have any. I'll try that next time. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
so delicious, thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Great recipe, and easy to make. I needed more salt and pepper. Kids ate it up and almost asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartAlex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a delicious soup. I have made it several times and have made it as is, as well as substituted cooked crumbled bacon instead of the ham. I have also added fresh corn off the cob, different seasonings and it is perfect every time. This recipe freezes very well and is definitely a keeper. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Extremely delicious! Only way I could improve on it is thyme instead of cayenne. Definitely a keeper! p.s. the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is really good. I did change a couple things though to eliminate dairy and wheat. I used oil instead of butter. Eliminated the cream, and used 2 cups of rice milk mixed with 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to make a slurry instead of a floured roux. I added the milk/cornstarch slurry the last few minutes of cooking and it turned out great. I also added a handful of frozen peas at the end to give this some nice colour contrast and flavour. My kids also loved it which is a huge bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made a small batch of this as written. It was too bland for me. The next batch I made, I caramelized the onions, ham, and potatoes before adding fresh chicken stock (no water!!!). Why on earth wouldn't you try to extract as much flavor from the ingredients?!? Mine turned out with a much better depth of flavor from just a few extra minutes work. There's no reason that soup can't be more than the sum of its ingredients. It's a perfectly adequate soup as written but I need more flavor in my soup. Thanks Chef John for a jumping off point. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
very good and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seaweed
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Delicious! Great way to use leftover Thanksgiving ham. I substituted butter for 3 T of olive oil, used 3 cups of chicken broth, and 1 cup of water. I also omitted the heavy cream, you won't miss it. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States