Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this today for the first time ever (I've never made soup before besides from a can), and my hubby loved it. I know a meal is a hit when he keeps complimenting it for an hour or two after he's done eating. That happened today. I did not put any celery or milk in it because I didn't have either, but my hubby agreed celery would be a nice touch in it. The milk is not needed, though. I am only giving this four stars because this isn't a recipe that blew us over, but it is very good and will be added to my rotation of "now and then" foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph10023

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
One of the best soups I have had in a long time...Really easy to make after watching the video.. Very warming and tasty.. Both hubby and kids enjoyed it so will def make it again. Thanks Chef John... Nicola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was delicious and easy! Everyone that tried it like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Oh my gosh! I just tried this recipe and it is delicious! Chef John, you can cook for me any time! In fact I will now only go to your recipes when I need something! Thank you so much! And I like the hint you gave about "no lumps!" It worked! Also, what I did was cook the leftover ham bones (3) in the chicken stock and water and then added it to the veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe, I've made it a few times already and there's hardly any left-overs. I didn't have any heavy cream and substituted with milk, which worked just fine. I used a smoked ham steak and I made my own broth making half with ham bullion and the other half chicken. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I can't stop eating this soup! My husband who is not a soup fan even liked it. I didn't add celery because it's not something we normally keep stocked. I used bouillon cubes to make the broth (which is a little less flavorful than canned broth I think) so I used only one cup of water. I still had to add quite a bit of salt and a little pepper so next time I might not even add water at all or add an extra cup of broth instead of water. Anyway, this is one of my favorite recipes ever! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Just used a splash of cream....moi! perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious! Good dinner for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
great video and froze well too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Another fabulous recipe from Chef John! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States