Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a delicious soup. I have made it several times and have made it as is, as well as substituted cooked crumbled bacon instead of the ham. I have also added fresh corn off the cob, different seasonings and it is perfect every time. This recipe freezes very well and is definitely a keeper. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Extremely delicious! Only way I could improve on it is thyme instead of cayenne. Definitely a keeper! p.s. the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is really good. I did change a couple things though to eliminate dairy and wheat. I used oil instead of butter. Eliminated the cream, and used 2 cups of rice milk mixed with 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to make a slurry instead of a floured roux. I added the milk/cornstarch slurry the last few minutes of cooking and it turned out great. I also added a handful of frozen peas at the end to give this some nice colour contrast and flavour. My kids also loved it which is a huge bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made a small batch of this as written. It was too bland for me. The next batch I made, I caramelized the onions, ham, and potatoes before adding fresh chicken stock (no water!!!). Why on earth wouldn't you try to extract as much flavor from the ingredients?!? Mine turned out with a much better depth of flavor from just a few extra minutes work. There's no reason that soup can't be more than the sum of its ingredients. It's a perfectly adequate soup as written but I need more flavor in my soup. Thanks Chef John for a jumping off point. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
very good and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seaweed
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Delicious! Great way to use leftover Thanksgiving ham. I substituted butter for 3 T of olive oil, used 3 cups of chicken broth, and 1 cup of water. I also omitted the heavy cream, you won't miss it. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This soup is delicious! For such inexpensive ingredients it fools you into thinking you are eating an expensive restaurant soup! I double the amount of carrots and celery to make it more nutritious and you can sub half and half or milk for the cream. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was very good. The only change I made was to use half and half rather than heavy cream. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thank you so much. I made this exactly as written and Chef John, you have a winner here! Everyone enjoyed this soup and not one complaint. I did take the option of the cayenne pepper and it was perfect, just one eight of a teaspoon. Again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States