Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We really liked this soup. We like the cayenne pepper in it. Gives a little extra warmth on cold winter days. Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I've made this soup twice this week. The only thing I changed was I added 2 bay leafs, and parsley for color. Best potato soup ever!! A new winter comfort food, added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Simple AND tasty! Love when that combo happens. And it tasted even better the next day, and the next day and the next....it made a lot for just the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We liked this and it was kid approved too. I used vegetable stock and a bit of chicken bouillon since that's what I had on hand. I also added some frozen corn at the end. Thanks for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Can not beat this on a cold winter day to fill the belly and raise the core temperature. I double the ingredients to make it worth while and I used my home made ham bone and chicken broth as the stock base for this great soup. Another home run Chef John lead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this soup for my husband & son and I have to tell you it was out of this world .I followed the recipe as directed and there isn't anything I would do differently. However my son added 1/2 package of equal to his individual bowl and it enhanced the flavor brought all the different flavors out ever more. I would recommend this soup to anyone who wants to warm up their tummies. Will recommend this to all of my friends. Thank you Chef John Denise S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As I watched the snow falling yesterday and thinking of an easy comfort soup to warm up with, I ventured upon this great potato soup recipe. The only changes I made were to add 2-3 teaspoons of Minor's Chicken Base to 6 cups of water and 1/2 cup of fat free milk. The results were superb! I diced up 6-8 ounces of leftover smoked ham, a few shallots that were beginning to sprout , an onion, carrot, stalk of celery, few bulbs of sliced garlic , and "voila"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe is the bomb.com. My girlfriend and even my kids loved it. She says it's even better than her mom's but will NEVER admit she said it lol. The only thing that I really changed was instead of smoke ham I used bacon. I just fried it up in about 1/4" chunks and then added it to my stock pot. I also added some corn as well just to make it a little heavier as a meal. I am actually making it again tonight because both of my kids chose this meal over PIZZA! This is not a misprint, they actually chose it over PIZZA. That should say it all about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This soup was delicious! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States