Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this with packaged diced ham and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norm
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this today, just as Chef John says! OH MY!! Delicious, simple comfort food. I did not have cayanne to use. I doubled the amount of veggies and ham. Still used the 6 cups of liquid. It does make more than 4 servings. I need to make soups more often. Loved this. Never added any salt due to chicken broth. I added rosemary and thyme for seasoning. This truly a great soup you can add layers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rogandjul's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was nice and thick. I used 6 potatoes. However I felt like I spent a lot of time at the stove. Next time I think I'll try the slow cooker recipe on site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I Substituted Silk Coconut Creamer for heavy cream to avoid the fat and it still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good soup. Made this for diner this evening using left over ham. Came out very good. I also threw in the ham bone while the soup cooked. I doubled the recipe and substituted milk for the water called in the recipe. Next time i will use a bit more potatoes and ham in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
definitely delicious! Easy to make and packed full of flavor. in my opinion makes more like 6-8 servings. will be making more soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this sup yesterday. My family loved it as did I. i will make this sup regularly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Simply delish! After a very long day at the grocery store, I dreaded the thought of fixing dinner & knew my tootsies were pretty much done in. Then I remembered I had saved Chef John's Ham & Potato Soup recipe. Saved is right! This was easy-peasy to prep, & within the hour, hubby & I were licking ours spoons! Served with a side of grilled cheese & beefy tomatoes sandwiches. Perfect ending to a not so perfect day! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was amazing! love you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was so good I made it again the very next night. Added canned corn. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States