Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by alishalouise
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The first few times I made this recipe, I did it by the book (minus the cayenne). With each time after I started just tossing in amounts that seemed right/better to my preference. The second to last time I made it I added red pepper flakes as a substitution to cayenne because then I didn't have to buy another spice. This last time though, I went all out. I added a lot of extra ham, steamed a head of cauliflower prior and used half of it - diced small - added half a bag of frozen corn and pease each. and technically added extra potato (russets) but less than I normally do to make up for the cauliflower addition. I didn't have any cream or half and half today, so just through in like a cup of milk... I don't know, I just poured it from the gallon. And of course pepper flakes/cayenne. This soup, no matter what I do to it, turns out amazingly, and never wrong, and I always have multiple bowls of it a day! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup had a really delicious flavor with just a hint of creaminess. I am not a big fan of creamed soups so, this was a winner for me. I used a one pound ham steak and there was plenty of meat to go around. I think the cayenne pepper is pretty key in this soup, I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a great soup. I followed Chef John's recipe adding fresh, large chunks of cauliflower when I added the potatoes. A bowl is a meal. Hearty. The touch of cayenne, which I normally skip in recipes, was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Added more ham than the recipe stated. I also added a bouillon cube for extra flavor, so very little salt was needed. My family absolutely loved it. Adding it to our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My daughter helped me make this and it was great~ Had to up this to five stars. We make this ALL THE TIME and everybody loves it. I usually serve it with a batch of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is excellent, rich and flavorful. I made it just as the recipe states, without the optional cayenne. Next time I will try it with half and half instead of whipping cream to cut the fat content a bit. This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie
Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I'm going to use red potatoes. Should I peel them? Also can you mix in cheddar cheese to the soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Thank-you, Chef John! This is THE most delish recipe!! I've made it at least 3 or four times. Waiting on a potful now!! I would give it 10 stars but the ratings only go to five!! Thanks again for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this 4 times since Christmas, my family loves it and cant wait until we have some leftover ham to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsNimako

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mentone, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States