Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe! The cayenne pepper adds just the right amount of bite. My family are not fans of split pea and ham soup but absolutely love this recipe. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a very easy & VERY GOOD recipe. Had some left over Easter ham cause how much ham can one really eat? Anyway, followed the recipe but added 2 more carrots & 2 more ribs of celery to amp up the veggies. I also subbed more chicken stock/broth for the water. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
made this tonight for my grandchildren,whom,i am thankful,are not picky eaters ages seven,five, and 4.they have pronounced this a keeper! wiped bowls clean with biscuits and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent soup! So simple, yet so delicious! I doubled for our family of 5 (including two teenage boys) as it stated it made 4 servings but no need, HUGE servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyjacobi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this using leftover Easter ham, and would warn folks to be careful not to use the parts heavily glazed. It's like adding a few tablespoons of sugar to the soup. This is a good recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I rarely review BUT this soup is excellent and needs to be shared as the go to recipe for Potato/Ham soup. It was tasty the first night but just OUTSTANDING the next day. It is perfect for post holiday ham and I followed the recipe fairly close and you can just tweek to your family's likes. Can't go wrong, easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I had left over ham from Easter dinner that I had cooked in a recipe from this site which included brown sugar. As i was making the soup and test tasting it I found the sweetness of the brown sugr just a tad overpowering so I added a tsp of dill weed (a family favorite) and a bay leaf. It helped decrease the taste of the brow sugar and while the soup was simmering at the end I added a about a tsp of sherry wine vinegar to top things of. My DH who rarely says much about his meals told it was one of the best soups I had ever made. I am going to try this again the way it is intended the next time with the smoked ham and see what he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Felton, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
this was to die for good! my husband loved it and even gave some out to his work crew! 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Delicious -- where have you been hiding Chef John? Where are your other recipes? I was at the butcher and he had some ham ends, I had everything else on hand. In my husband's words, "this is really good." Simple and easy; plus, Chef John's voice is so soothing as he talks about putting the dish together. I even made one mistake and it still came out great. Thank you, please post other recipes and make them easier to find on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States