Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I did a few changes, put in less onions ( personal prefernce ) added garlic powder and more than a pinch of Tony Chachere's! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I'm what you'd consider a non-cook. If it has more than 2 steps I'm usually lost. The first time I made this recipe I followed the video recipe for it (found on this site and on Food Wishes). I was so pleasantly surprised when the soup came out exactly as I thought it should. I now make it every week or two and I am as happy with it now as I was back then. Creamy and flavorful without being overpowering, it's everything I look for in a comfort food. I do leave out the cayenne now, though it's tasty either way. That's just my personal preference. Don't miss the video. There's nothing like Chef John's good humor to make you smile while you cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very tasty!!! Due to a food allergy, I made mine gluten free by substituting cornstarch for the flour. I waited until the end before I thickened it. Arrowroot would work too. (Just mix about two heaping tablespoons with a bit of water before adding to soup. The soup will thicken as it simmers.) I will make this again! Like other reviewers said, you can use the basic recipe but make modifications based on what you like and/or have on hand. I didn't have celery or carrots so I eliminated them. I did add celery salt and butter beans. Then I topped it with shredded cheddar instead of chives...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is my favourite ham & potato soup on allrecipes.com. I only made a few slight changes (nothing drastic): took out carrots and celery because I didn't have any. I sauteed only half an onion with 3 garlic cloves. After the chicken stock had been simmered for 15 minutes, I added in 2 tsp garlic powder and 2 tsp of onion powder to the pot. Then I used half-and-half cream at the end because it was all I had on hand. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
On this cold, wintery day in Ohio, this was truly a comfort soup. I doubled the recipe to freeze for another day. It is delicious and I changed nothing. Keep sending us your recipes Chef John, I have not tried any of your recipes to date that have been anything short of wonderful and dependable! Jenny in Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beallsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This soup was excellent. I followed the recipe almost to a T except that I used smoked sausage in place of the ham and added a couple extra tablespoons of flour to have it thicken up a bit more. Other than that the recipe was easy to follow and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMICHIGAN
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a terrific recipe, and I found the video helpful. Chef John is a great teacher and entertaining to boot. I mistakenly added only 1/2 the suggest butter and cream and still the soup was rich and satisfying. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alishalouise
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The first few times I made this recipe, I did it by the book (minus the cayenne). With each time after I started just tossing in amounts that seemed right/better to my preference. The second to last time I made it I added red pepper flakes as a substitution to cayenne because then I didn't have to buy another spice. This last time though, I went all out. I added a lot of extra ham, steamed a head of cauliflower prior and used half of it - diced small - added half a bag of frozen corn and pease each. and technically added extra potato (russets) but less than I normally do to make up for the cauliflower addition. I didn't have any cream or half and half today, so just through in like a cup of milk... I don't know, I just poured it from the gallon. And of course pepper flakes/cayenne. This soup, no matter what I do to it, turns out amazingly, and never wrong, and I always have multiple bowls of it a day! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup had a really delicious flavor with just a hint of creaminess. I am not a big fan of creamed soups so, this was a winner for me. I used a one pound ham steak and there was plenty of meat to go around. I think the cayenne pepper is pretty key in this soup, I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a great soup. I followed Chef John's recipe adding fresh, large chunks of cauliflower when I added the potatoes. A bowl is a meal. Hearty. The touch of cayenne, which I normally skip in recipes, was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States