Chef John's Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this recipe last summer and everyone loved it however, hubby wanted it to have more flavor. So last weekend when whole pork loins were on sale I bought one and put it in my slow cooker with the marinade. The house smelled so good. When I was ready to serve I pulled it apart some but not completely. Served with beans and rice and everyone raved how good it was. Best of all it looked and tasted just like the jerk pork hubby gets at his favorite restaurant. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I marinated both chicken breast and pork tenderloin. The chicken seemed to pick up more flavor. I used jalapeno instead of habanero. I also seared, then oven baked, rather than grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent marinade. Use a thermometer and make sure to pull at 145 degrees to avoid dry meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Awesome. I have to use less hot pepper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Loved it - I doubled the recipe since I had two pork loins. I probably didn't need to though but the extra sauce was wonderful! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The habaneros made it perfectly spicy and they are a sweet hot pepper so meshed well. Even my 11 year old loved it! I love the idea of doing this sauce with boneless loin chops so will try that next! Oh - don't even THINK of skipping the fresh thyme. Wonderful! Pro-tip: Instead of all of the chopping and dicing I quartered the onions, peeled the garlic and ginger, hollowed out the habaneros without touching the insides and tossed everything into my food processor. Since you're blending into smooth anyways much easier to just let it blend that spend the extra time chopping and mincing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Totally delicious! Just the right amount of spice. I can't wait to make it for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Marinated for four hours. It was a nice recipe and I liked it more than my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
this was very good! I used boneless pork tenderloin chops instead of a tenderloin roast. I only marinated for 2 hours, but the chops still had great flavor and were very moist and tender. Be sure to wear gloves before handling the habaneros, or EVERYTHING you handle and touch afterwards will BURN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was good, and close to authentic jerk flavor. I used habaneros, as written, but think it would be better with scotch bonnet peppers. Served with simple baked sweet potatoes topped with butter, salt and pepper, and a classic carrot-pineapple raisin salad with a pineapple-maple vinaigrette. Our pork cooked up just a tiny bit dry (we normally grill the tenderloin whole) so I spooned a bit of the vinaigrette over it. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These were so very good! I did make a few changes, but nothing drastic. Since I was only cooking for two people I used 2 pork chops in place of the tenderloin I also halved the marinade since I was only making a small batch. I omitted the onion, but replaced it with onion powder instead ( just a personal preference). The habanero adds just the right the amount of heat without being too overpowering. When it came time to serve these I whipped up some more marinade mixed with a bit of cornstarch to thicken and used that as a sauce for my chops. This recipe will be going into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States