Chef John's Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious!! I made this in the slow cooker and it came out so tender and yummy!! The only thing different I did was omit the habañero pepper. Those are way too spicy for us. Perfect combo of sweet and spice. Thank you for the new recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Loved it - I doubled the recipe since I had two pork loins. I probably didn't need to though but the extra sauce was wonderful! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The habaneros made it perfectly spicy and they are a sweet hot pepper so meshed well. Even my 11 year old loved it! I love the idea of doing this sauce with boneless loin chops so will try that next! Oh - don't even THINK of skipping the fresh thyme. Wonderful! Pro-tip: Instead of all of the chopping and dicing I quartered the onions, peeled the garlic and ginger, hollowed out the habaneros without touching the insides and tossed everything into my food processor. Since you're blending into smooth anyways much easier to just let it blend that spend the extra time chopping and mincing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was good, and close to authentic jerk flavor. I used habaneros, as written, but think it would be better with scotch bonnet peppers. Served with simple baked sweet potatoes topped with butter, salt and pepper, and a classic carrot-pineapple raisin salad with a pineapple-maple vinaigrette. Our pork cooked up just a tiny bit dry (we normally grill the tenderloin whole) so I spooned a bit of the vinaigrette over it. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
If you love the jerk sauce at Buffalo Wild Wings, you will love this recipe. The jerk flavor profile is very similar. I thought this recipe was fantastic. The seasoning was as good as anything I have had in a restaurant. I used a jalepano instead of habenero. I also seared the pork on the stove at medium-high heat for 10 min then threw it in the oven for 20-25 min. Dont overcook. Pork is done at 160 degrees. When I pulled it out of the oven I cut up the meat and left it in the sauce to absorb the remaining juices. So nice! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
this was very tasty.. we used double the habanero but did not find it to be too spicy.. i felt like it could have been a little saltier, but then again we didn't marinate for the full amount of time.. probably closer to 3 hours b/c i was starving.. overall it was very flavorful and would love to try again or maybe also on chicken.. we enjoyed this with Green Banana Fries (on this site) and some black beans with sauteed onion/garlic/bell pepper.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this recipe last summer and everyone loved it however, hubby wanted it to have more flavor. So last weekend when whole pork loins were on sale I bought one and put it in my slow cooker with the marinade. The house smelled so good. When I was ready to serve I pulled it apart some but not completely. Served with beans and rice and everyone raved how good it was. Best of all it looked and tasted just like the jerk pork hubby gets at his favorite restaurant. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Totally delicious! Just the right amount of spice. I can't wait to make it for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
this was very good! I used boneless pork tenderloin chops instead of a tenderloin roast. I only marinated for 2 hours, but the chops still had great flavor and were very moist and tender. Be sure to wear gloves before handling the habaneros, or EVERYTHING you handle and touch afterwards will BURN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really, really good. Followed the recipe exactly. Just enough spice and sweetness. Will definitely keep in the rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States