Chef John's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Awesome! I used more cherry tomatoes to cpmpensate for the lack sweetness in the other tomatoes. I also added an extra clove of garlic and doubled the balsamic vinegar and worchester for a little extra tang and to contribute to the salt. I will make this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Oh Chef John, your reputation precedes you! From your how-to videos to your numerous published recipes, you've earned your title. I was craving Summer and happened to find this recipe, and while I don't have end of season tomatoes yet, this gazpacho turned out incredibly. If you love to cook, but take satisfaction in the preparation of the dish, then try this recipe. I had some time on a Saturday afternoon all to myself to create, and chopping the vegetables was a great source of relaxation. I felt like a character in a movie (have you ever seen Julia & Julia?) while I was preparing this soup. OK, maybe that's a bit dramatic, but the finished product is DELICIOUS! Don't be intimidated by the steps, and here is a great tip from the video--to peel tomatoes easily, dip them in a pot of boiling water for a few seconds. You'll be able to pull the peel off easily before dicing them. THANKS for a wonderful, fresh, healthy recipe! I can't wait to share this with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by DelMarGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This might be one of my favorite recipes of all time. Delicious, simple to make and tastes as good or better the next day. I've already had 5 people ask me for the recipe. I made this over the weekend and I am now making it again for an end of school party on Friday for the teachers. I didn't change a single thing in this recipe. This is an absolute MUST try recipe. On a side ntoe - I served this for dinner, but I also served it for brunch along with a southwestern breakfast casserole and it worked very well together. Thank you again Chef John - your flavor combinations are ALWAYS spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelMarGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
After trying Chef John's Gazpacho a few days ago I have now pitched my own recipe of over 20 years! Yes folks it is true! You can teach an old dog new tricks or new recipes anyway. ;) I made no changes to it and my family and friends loved it! Gazpacho can be time consuming to make but John's isn't but 45 minutes and viewing his video to make it makes it all the more easy. Plus his voice is so relaxing to me! ;) The only thing I added was a cucumber slice and a dollop of Daisy Sour Cream to the top of each serving. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe!!! Made it exactly by the recipe and entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is AMAZING! I ate several helpings of this but that's ok. It is really healthy. Try it- you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was very good gazpacho. We love garlic, so I added a little more, but it was too much. John's portions were right on. I used a regular cuke, peeled it, and it turned out fine, in fact, I added some more and it was good. We will definitely make this again this summer. We're trying to do meatless Mondays, and this fits well with that plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
The best recipe I have used. Kudos to you chef John love it and easy to prepare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
OH. MY. WORD. FANTASTIC!!!!!! Change nothing! This is my new favorite summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic. The perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John's Green Hummus

This super-easy homemade hummus stars beautiful fresh basil.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States