Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is the first review I've ever posted here, but I had to rave! I was a little nervous about so few reviews, but every one was so positive I tried this on the mystery roast I found in the freezer (since I have no idea what I originally intended to do with it!). That's actually how I found this, by searching the roast as an ingredient. I like that I had all the ingredients for the roast on hand, although not the accompaniments. My whole family thought it was fantastic. I really love the make-ahead portion; this would be great for company because the time-consuming part is already done. Thanks for the great recipe AND video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This is just like Grandma made! The flavor was incredible for such a simple recipe. It will definitely become a regular in our house. Look forward to trying more recipes from Chef John. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this per instructions, but served it on Chef John's "beans & greens" instead of using the salad topper. Excellent flavor - juicy & tender. A keeper for sure! Thanks, CJ! I love YOU and all of your recipes that I've tried. (Yours are the only videos I watch...so entertaining & informative!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was AMAZING! Like serve-your-boss-and-his-wife-amazing! Followed the recipe exactly and all the ingredients melded so well and the presentation was beautiful. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I was not surprised at how awesome my roast turned out. I've tried about a dozen of Chef John's recipes and they're always amazing. I used a 7 pound roast and added an extra hour in the oven. Pan searing made it incredible. The flavor is a great change to the same old BBQ pork we usually prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Great recipe John! I keep messing up when I take the roast out to thaw, so I have had to reduce cooldown times in the fridge to as little as two hours! That said it has been cold when cutting and turned out lovely each time. Not sure what I'm missing by not letting it cool, but I WILL follow exactly the next time! Six stars is appropriate, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This came out so flavorful and was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Ok, I actually served this during the Super Bowl. Wife said, "Oh my god! I am at a five-star restaurant." My au-pair from S. Africa said it was great ... a 4.5 star. I would give it a 4 only because five stars for me means my eyes roll up into my head and we didn't quite get there. What I would say about this is that it is strangely difficult to find recipes for a pork shoulder roast (which is ALWAYS on sale at the super market. I LOVE port shoulder roast and usually brown it (lots of smoke and hot fat) then cook it all day real slow. This was pretty easy, albeit not available until the next day, but very easy and very good. My one complaint about the recipe is that it should give cooking time per pound because my roast was 8.5 lbs. I stuck a meat thermometer into the middle and cooked it to 160 degrees before turning off the oven. I was happy with that. You don't need to change anything with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middlebury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I was looking for a roast pork recipe "Like Mom Made". I have been looking for a recipe of this type for a long time - and this one is perfect. The key is being very generous with the spices. If you can find a roast that has not been trimmed to death - even better (more flavor). The idea of searing the slices gives a great texture and is a step you do not want to pass up. Great recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious. I was a little nervous trying out a recipe looking for "dry" and "chewy" pork, but everyone raved about the amazing crust, and it really was very moist as well. I didn't have time to let it rest overnight before pan-frying. I imagine it would have made it even more delicious, but it was five-star even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States