Chef John's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I have always wanted to try fried greens since the movie came out and finally with the help of Chef John hilarious video I took the leap. I was not expecting much just a novelty food and I was pleasantly surprised--these things are pretty good. Will have to work on my southern drawl next. Another home run--thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe is excellent! I usually shy away from any vegetable but so very happy I tried these. This is the third time in a month!!! It is a wonderful way to use up those end of the season green tomatoes in the garden. Did not change anything in the recipe. Just make and enjoy! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is the first time I've tried fried green tomatoes. Absolutely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
For fried green tomatoes, this is a good recipe. Still not convinced I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
First attempt at fried green tomatoes...second time I ever ate them. Even the family members who turn up their noses at vegetables ate it because they loved the sauce..used spicy instead of sweet relish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These were the BEST fried green tomatoes that I've ever had! My family loved them. I paired it with Chef Johns crockpot pot roast (made mine in the oven and tweek'd it a bit with beer) with mashed potatoes, mushrooms, onions and carrots. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignon's Filet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Did this recipe twice. First time, to me, was 4-star. To make it 5-star, for my family and I, I ditched the cornmeal, subbed buttermilk for the regular milk and doubled it, and used a LOT more cayenne (bringing it closer to the recipe I've always used). Follow the actual process of preparing the tomatoes and cooking them. These steps are very important and Chef John has laid them out very well. When finished, I used my own remoulade recipe (relish, mayo, lemon juice, hot sauce, cayenne, paprika, s&p, blended smooth), and stacked my tomatoes with crab cakes, with the remoulade (mixed with tiny salad shrimp) over all. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We live in the southeast and have eaten tomatoes cooked many different ways. This is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I absolutely L-O-V-E-D this, Chef John!!! So very impressed indeed!!! I confess that I made a few adjustments to the recipe to fit my groove, for example, I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, red tomatoes rather than green (store's I went to really didn't have green tomatoes), chili pepper rather than cayenne pepper, wheat flour instead of the plain ole white flour, sea salt rather than regular salt, & I cooked my tomatoes for longer to make them a little more crisp. I was SO very pleased as well as impressed, & Chef John was not only a fabulous chef to learn from, but his positive & peppy attitude as well made it a fun experience for me!!! I WILL be back to check out some more of his recipes!!! Thanks from my mom & I!!! :-) ) ) P.S... Personally, in my opinion, no dip is needed for this recipe... It is great as is, I do recommend to cut the tomatoes just a tad thinner & maybe just tomatoes that are a little smaller if you prefer them a little more crispy, but don't get me wrong, they are still awesome his way too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Best fried green tomatoes!!! Really enjoyed the sauce as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States