Chef John's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum-O! It takes a little time (mostly in the waiting), but this is delicious and gave me a great way to use the last tomatoes on vine before the first frost. I used cornstarch instead of flour for an extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have wanted to try fried green tomatoes since the movie came out and Jessica Tandy had that heavenly smile when she them. Well Chef John I was not disappointed! These are awesome!!! Followed recipe to a "T". Now my only problem is "How will I ever be able to eat a vine ripened tomatoe again"? LOL Just delicious! The sauce is a hoot loved it too and can spice it hot!truly a keeper. 10 stars wouldn`t be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
An easy and delicious recipe. Chef John's recipes and videos are the best. I followed instructions to a T with good results. The only change I will make is to cut back on the flour, corn meal and bread crumbs, imo only one egg is needed. I prepared 8 slices of tomatoes, twice as many as indicated with a nice thick coating but tossed out a LOT of leftover coating mix. I also cut the salt in half. I plan to make these again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatscooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Love these. Had never had a good fried green tomatoes before. Tried last year and wasn't impressed so went looking for another recipe. Since my tomatoes still haven't ripened this year I might be eating allot of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Do not look any further for another Fried Green Tomato recipe; you will not beat this one. The most novice cook will look like a 5 star chef serving these. Follow Chef John's advice and you will be a Southerner in no time. I used Italian panko bread crumbs and added one additional egg white to the two whole eggs and milk station. Please make sure you let them set for 10 to 15 minutes once breaded as I believe it makes all the difference. Also, make sure to follow the step regarding drawing out the water from the tomato slices. The remoulade sauce puts this dish over the top. Liked the movie, loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Chef John does a good job of describingthe process of cooking the tomatoes.I also used buttermilk, instead of regular milk. atop the tomatoes with goat cheese and made a Louisiana remolaude sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael S Cole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Totally delish! Will definitely make again. Skipped the cornmeal since I didn't have any. Still soooo good. Took me back to the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
First time making them. The video was very helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Shupe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These were so easy and delicious, even for a novice like me! I would not change a thing! I followed the directions EXACTLY, setting out the tomatoes to drain, keeping them in the flour for a while, pushing in the cornmeal, and this is the first time the coating didn't come off something I was trying to fry! I made these to accompany Chef John's Crab Cakes, which were also wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is the very best fried green tomatoes I have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly after watching the video. Perfection. Better than anything I've had in southern restaurants too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States