Chef John's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! Made it according to the recipe and it turned out great, easy too. The remoulade really added a great taste. Try it! I did put some of the finished tomato slices in a 250 degree oven to keep warm and they didn't get soggy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
My tomatoes had blossom end rot and I didn't want to waste them so I found this recipe! After cutting the rotten part off, I cut them up. I used homemade bread crumbs I had in the fridge from a loaf that didn't quite work out. (As you can see, I don't like to waste!) I also used wheat flour for dredging in place of the white. As for the sauce, I don't have hot sauce so instead I used some horseradish sauce. It turned out really good! I do believe fried green tomatoes are an acquired taste, but these were very palatable. This coming from someone who lives just down the road from the Whistle Stop Café where the movie was filmed~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum-O! It takes a little time (mostly in the waiting), but this is delicious and gave me a great way to use the last tomatoes on vine before the first frost. I used cornstarch instead of flour for an extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have wanted to try fried green tomatoes since the movie came out and Jessica Tandy had that heavenly smile when she them. Well Chef John I was not disappointed! These are awesome!!! Followed recipe to a "T". Now my only problem is "How will I ever be able to eat a vine ripened tomatoe again"? LOL Just delicious! The sauce is a hoot loved it too and can spice it hot!truly a keeper. 10 stars wouldn`t be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eloise Morales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
An easy and delicious recipe. Chef John's recipes and videos are the best. I followed instructions to a T with good results. The only change I will make is to cut back on the flour, corn meal and bread crumbs, imo only one egg is needed. I prepared 8 slices of tomatoes, twice as many as indicated with a nice thick coating but tossed out a LOT of leftover coating mix. I also cut the salt in half. I plan to make these again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatscooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Love these. Had never had a good fried green tomatoes before. Tried last year and wasn't impressed so went looking for another recipe. Since my tomatoes still haven't ripened this year I might be eating allot of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine Marie Thomas
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Do not look any further for another Fried Green Tomato recipe; you will not beat this one. The most novice cook will look like a 5 star chef serving these. Follow Chef John's advice and you will be a Southerner in no time. I used Italian panko bread crumbs and added one additional egg white to the two whole eggs and milk station. Please make sure you let them set for 10 to 15 minutes once breaded as I believe it makes all the difference. Also, make sure to follow the step regarding drawing out the water from the tomato slices. The remoulade sauce puts this dish over the top. Liked the movie, loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Marie Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Chef John does a good job of describingthe process of cooking the tomatoes.I also used buttermilk, instead of regular milk. atop the tomatoes with goat cheese and made a Louisiana remolaude sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael S Cole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Totally delish! Will definitely make again. Skipped the cornmeal since I didn't have any. Still soooo good. Took me back to the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
First time making them. The video was very helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Shupe

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States