Chef John's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
First time making them. The video was very helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These were so easy and delicious, even for a novice like me! I would not change a thing! I followed the directions EXACTLY, setting out the tomatoes to drain, keeping them in the flour for a while, pushing in the cornmeal, and this is the first time the coating didn't come off something I was trying to fry! I made these to accompany Chef John's Crab Cakes, which were also wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is the very best fried green tomatoes I have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly after watching the video. Perfection. Better than anything I've had in southern restaurants too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this for 70 seniors and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Loved it!! Didn't have cornmeal so used crushed lime tortilla chips and it was a hit!! Made the sauce too. Southern and sassy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Best fried green tomatoes!!! Really enjoyed the sauce as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I absolutely L-O-V-E-D this, Chef John!!! So very impressed indeed!!! I confess that I made a few adjustments to the recipe to fit my groove, for example, I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, red tomatoes rather than green (store's I went to really didn't have green tomatoes), chili pepper rather than cayenne pepper, wheat flour instead of the plain ole white flour, sea salt rather than regular salt, & I cooked my tomatoes for longer to make them a little more crisp. I was SO very pleased as well as impressed, & Chef John was not only a fabulous chef to learn from, but his positive & peppy attitude as well made it a fun experience for me!!! I WILL be back to check out some more of his recipes!!! Thanks from my mom & I!!! :-) ) ) P.S... Personally, in my opinion, no dip is needed for this recipe... It is great as is, I do recommend to cut the tomatoes just a tad thinner & maybe just tomatoes that are a little smaller if you prefer them a little more crispy, but don't get me wrong, they are still awesome his way too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We live in the southeast and have eaten tomatoes cooked many different ways. This is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Did this recipe twice. First time, to me, was 4-star. To make it 5-star, for my family and I, I ditched the cornmeal, subbed buttermilk for the regular milk and doubled it, and used a LOT more cayenne (bringing it closer to the recipe I've always used). Follow the actual process of preparing the tomatoes and cooking them. These steps are very important and Chef John has laid them out very well. When finished, I used my own remoulade recipe (relish, mayo, lemon juice, hot sauce, cayenne, paprika, s&p, blended smooth), and stacked my tomatoes with crab cakes, with the remoulade (mixed with tiny salad shrimp) over all. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These were the BEST fried green tomatoes that I've ever had! My family loved them. I paired it with Chef Johns crockpot pot roast (made mine in the oven and tweek'd it a bit with beer) with mashed potatoes, mushrooms, onions and carrots. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignon's Filet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States